Boat trip to the Maldives... A dream come true!

01 February 2016 | Asia

"The Maldives remains a dream destination for intermediate, advanced and pro surfers. A must for any good surfer globetrotter who respects himself " the opinion of 360° Surf.

Winter is progressively settling in France while you only dream of escaping to warmer climes. Don't panic, the 360° Surf team offers you to discover the Maldives on board a boat. So no more 4.3 wetsuit, bonnet or slippers... we swap everything for boardshorts and sun cream.

At the beginning, when the idea germinates after a nice session, you think that a boat trip to the Maldives must be really cool... But that the organisation must be a real challenge. Then, while surfing on the net, or listening to your friends' stories, you quickly realise that the offer exists, and that it exists in mass... to such an extent that you find yourself drowned under a ton of information. That's why 360° Surf, a travel agency specialising in surfing, has some advice for a successful trip!

The Maldives, an archipelago with many virgin spots

The archipelago offers an incredible number of surf spots. Less populated than its Indonesian neighbour, the Maldives offers exceptional wave quality without great difficulty, ideal for the beginner or the experienced surfer who wants to surf "à la cool". However, care must be taken when choosing an atoll and the orientation of the swell, which can quickly affect the quality of the waves.

The best time to surf in the Maldives is during the winter in the southern hemisphere, between March and October, when you can find the biggest swells between June and July with a good point break and offshore wind. Surfing in the archipelago varies according to the monsoons. During the NE monsoon, the best surfing conditions will be in the southern atolls with the best spots, whereas the SW monsoon gives great waves in the northern and central atolls.

The boat trip, the solution for an unforgettable trip

029e8d5fbb1a74a49f84b034b33597ee

If you want to discover several atolls and surf new breathtaking waves, then a boat trip is your solution. On Malhé you will find no less than twenty boats! Here again, you will have to be careful and choose according to your expectations, solo, in couple, in group? The life on board and its proximity are to be taken into account in the choice of the boat.

However, at 360° Surf we prefer the small traditional dohni, less bling bling, often less comfortable but much more practical... It doesn't have the same technical constraints as a big boat and can access the closest spots.

An earthly trip...

The team offers you the opportunity to discover three key destinations in the archipelago. The first one is on Meemu on the central atoll. A very accessible surf trip for beginners with a SW to SE swell between April and October. You will be able to boast of having surfed these world class straights.

If you are looking for a less crowded spot with exceptional wave quality, then the Ying Yang spot on Laamu is the place to be. Only for experienced surfers.

Finally, you should differentiate between North and South Malé. Don't go to North Malé for the quietness of the line-up but for the high density of regular lefts and rights. Close to the airport, you can easily get there. After North Malé head for South Malé for big SW swells.

With transparent water at over 28°C, a visit to the seabed is not to be missed during a breathtaking diving session. So, mask and snorkel are the essential accessories to discover one of the most beautiful reefs in the world.

For any further information, Matthieu will be happy to guide you towards the trip that will make you dream, and that will be for sure one of the most beautiful surfing trip memories!

Share!

Subscribe

Your email address is only used to send you the 360° Surf blog newsletters. You can at any time use the unsubscribe link integrated in the newsletter. Learn more about your data management and your rights.
RGPD(Required)

Categories

Latest articles

Scroll to Top
Open chat
Need help?

Boat trip aux Maldives… Un rêve devenu réalité !

01 février 2016 | Asie

« Les Maldives restent une destination de rêve réservée aux surfeurs intermédiaires, avancés et pro. Un passage obligatoire pour tout bon surfeur globetrotteur qui se respecte » l’avis de 360° Surf.

L’hiver s’installe progressivement en France alors que vous ne rêvez que d’évasion vers des cieux plus cléments. Pas de panique l’équipe de 360° Surf vous propose de partir découvrir les Maldives à bord d’un bateau. Alors plus de combi 4.3, de cagoule ou de chaussons… on troque tout pour le boardshort et la crème solaire.

Au début, lorsque l’idée germe après une belle session on se dit que ça doit être bien cool un boat trip aux Maldives… Mais que l'organisation ne doit pas être de tout repos. Puis en surfant sur le net, ou en écoutant les récits des potes, on se rend vite compte que l’offre existe, et qu'elle existe en masse… à tel point que l’on se retrouve noyé sous une tonne d’informations. C’est pourquoi l’agence de voyage spécialisée dans le surf, 360° Surf, vous donne quelques conseils pour un séjour réussi !

Les Maldives, un archipel aux multiples spots vierges

L’archipel vous propose un nombre incroyable de spots de surf. Moins peuplé que son voisin indonésien, les Maldives offrent des vagues de qualités exceptionnelles sans grande difficulté, idéale pour le surfeur débutant ou le confirmé qui veut du surf « à la cool ». Il faudra tout de même faire attention dans le choix de l’atoll et à l’orientation de la houle qui peuvent rapidement jouer sur la qualité des vagues.

La meilleure période pour surfer aux Maldives reste l’hiver dans l’hémisphère sud, entre mars et octobre, où vous pourrez trouver les plus gros swell entre juin et juillet avec un bon point break et un vent offshore. Le surf sur l’archipel varie en fonction des moussons. Pendant la mousson du NE, les meilleures conditions de surf se situeront dans les atolls du sud avec les spots a contrario de la mousson du SW qui donne de superbes vagues dans les atolls du nord et du centre.

Le boat trip, la solution pour un trip inoubliable

029e8d5fbb1a74a49f84b034b33597ee

Vous souhaitez découvrir plusieurs atolls et surfer de nouvelles déferlantes à couper le souffle, alors le boat trip est votre solution. Sur Malhé vous ne trouverez pas moins d’une vingtaine de bateaux !!! Là encore il faudra être attentif et choisir en fonction de vos attentes, voyage en solo, en couple, en groupe ? La vie à bord et sa proximité sont à prendre en compte dans le choix du boat.

Sachez tout de même que chez 360° Surf on préfère le petit dohni traditionnel, moins bling bling, souvent moins confortable mais bien plus pratique… Il n’a pas les mêmes contraintes techniques qu’un gros bateau et peut accéder au plus près des spots.

Un trip terrestre…

L’équipe vous propose de découvrir trois destinations phares de l’archipel. La première se situe sur Meemu sur l’atoll central. Un trip très accessible en surf pour les débutants avec une houle SW à SE entre avril et octobre. Vous pourrez ainsi vous vanter d’avoir surfé ces droites de classe mondiale.

Si vous souhaitez un spot peu fréquenté avec une qualité de vagues exceptionnelles, alors rendez-vous sur le spot de Ying Yang, sur Laamu où tout sera réuni vous éclater sur de belles droites. Exclusivement réservé aux surfeurs expérimentés.

Pour finir il faudra différencier Malé Nord de Malé Sud. N’allez pas sur Malé Nord pour la tranquillité au line-up mais bien pour la forte densité de gauches et de droites régulières. À proximité de l’aéroport, vous pourrez ainsi vous y rendre facilement. Après Malé Nord direction Malé Sud pour de grosses houles de SO.

Avec une eau transparente à plus de 28 °C, il ne faudra surtout pas louper la visite des fond sous-marins lors d’une session de plongée à couper le souffle. Alors masque et tuba sont les accessoires indispensables pour découvrir l’un des plus beaux récifs du monde.

Pour toutes informations complémentaires, Matthieu se fera un plaisir de vous orienter vers le trip qui vous fera rêver, et qui sera à coup sûr l’un des plus beaux souvenirs de voyage surf !

Partager !

S'abonner

Votre adresse de messagerie est uniquement utilisée pour vous envoyer les newsletters du blog 360° Surf. Vous pouvez à tout moment utiliser le lien de désabonnement intégré dans la newsletter. En savoir plus sur la gestion de vos données et vos droits.
RGPD(Nécessaire)

Catégories

Derniers articles

Retour haut de page
Ouvrir le chat
Besoin d'aide ?