Validate and close
Home / Cruises / Banyak Islands

Asia

Banyak Islands Surf Cruise

Embark on an unforgettable cruise to the Banyak Islands on the best spots with our expert team. Off the west coast of North Sumatra, nestled between Nias Island to the south and south-east of Simeulue, to the north. These sparsely populated islands are home to world-class waves, including Treasure Island, as well as a dense set of waves in the Bay of Plenty.

The boat surf trip of your dreams The journey

Embark on an unforgettable cruise to the Banyak Islands on the best spots with our expert team.

Off the west coast of North Sumatra, nestled between Nias Island to the south and south-east of Simeulue, to the north. These sparsely populated islands are home to world-class waves, including Treasure Island, as well as a dense set of waves in the Bay of Plenty. And, as in the neighbouring archipelagos, perfect waves break on its shores with extreme frequency. Located just above the equator, the winds are generally light all year round.

As a rule, surfing is more suitable for intermediate and experienced surfers. They will certainly get more out of the long trip to the area. And while the region boasts hundreds of dreamy set-ups, most of them land on sharp coral reefs, ready to inflict appropriate punishment at the slightest opportunity. This is mainly why we don't encourage learners or even beginners in progress to visit the area.

That said, with so many waves to choose from, intermediates can still surf the waves of their lives without too much risk. For advanced surfers, one trip will lead to many more.

10 days surfing / 11 nights

Photo package, T-shirt or cap, ALL INCLUSIVE BEERS.

Note: The trip has no fixed itinerary as surf conditions can change from day to day. Our experienced crew are always aware of the swell forecast and will inform everyone each day to discuss the next leg. The captain usually changes location during the night, allowing guests to enjoy the day surfing.

0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146

When to go? The perfect months

The dry season from March to October when the average temperature is 27°C the wind remains weak but constant, which makes the air drier and more pleasant.

The best time of year to surf "The Banyaks" is the dry season, which can run from late March to early November, when the Indian Ocean produces its most consistent bottom swells. The dry season from March to October when the average temperature is 27°C the wind remains light but constant, making the air drier and more pleasant.

JanuaryFebruaryMarAprilMayJune
JulyAugSeptemberOctoberNovemberDecember
JanFebMarAprilMayJune
JulAugSevenOctNovDec

The boat Sailboat or catamaran

The boat has 5 double rooms and one shared room for 4 people, for a total capacity of 14 people plus the crew, excluding the surf guide, who stay separately. All cabins are air-conditioned as well as the common area.

The boat is considered to be full when 10 people are on board, but this can be increased to 12 without any problem, provided that one cabin is occupied by 4 people.

The food is varied, from French influenced to Indonesian to burger and pizza!

The surf guide Pierre, who originated the boat, knows the Banyak Islands like the back of his hand.

Logbook Programme of your cruise

Arrive in Sibolga before 1pm. A member of our staff will be waiting to take you to the port. Early arrivals will be invited to relax in a nearby hotel. The boat is based in Sibolga, a 1 hour flight from Medan. The boards are collected the day before departure in Medan as they are taken to the boat by road.

Departure from the port at 6pm, arrival at the Banyak Islands early the next morning.

As far as waves are concerned, in the Banyak Islands, there are a dozen of waves allowing to surf at all levels. They are relatively soft and quite accessible for average surfers (it's still a reef so you have to know how to take off and follow the wave) like Turtle or Pulau Babi, world class spots like Treasure, Cobra or Bay of Plenty (3 waves left and right on the same spot). Thanks to Pierre, you will be guided throughout your stay to some secret spots.

Return to Sibolga in the early morning. One of our representatives will take you to the airport, fly back any time after 9am.

10 days surfing / 11 nights

Note: The trip has no fixed itinerary as surf conditions can change from day to day. Our experienced crew are always aware of the swell forecast and will inform everyone each day to discuss the next leg. The captain usually changes location during the night, allowing guests to enjoy the day surfing.

 

Package & prices on estimate according to the number of people

Exclusive Charter surfing

  • Departure from the port at 6pm, arrival at the Banyak Islands early the next morning.
  • 10 days surfing / 11 nights
  • Return to Sibolga in the early morning.
The price includes the photo package, a t-shirt or cap, ALL INCLUSIVE BEERS. Note: The trip has no fixed itinerary as surf conditions can change from day to day. Our experienced crew is always aware of the swell forecast and will inform everyone each day to discuss the next leg. The captain usually changes location during the night, allowing guests to enjoy the day surfing.

10 days / 11 nights

Exclusive Charter surf + Medan and Sibolga package

  • Hotel
  • Taxi
  • Flight Medan / Sibolga
  • Management of outward and return boards
  • Departure from the port at 6pm, arrival at the Banyak Islands early the next morning.
  • 10 days surfing / 11 nights
  • Return to Sibolga in the early morning.
The price includes the photo package, a t-shirt or cap, ALL INCLUSIVE BEERS. Note: The trip has no fixed itinerary as surf conditions can change from day to day. Our experienced crew is always aware of the swell forecast and will inform everyone each day to discuss the next leg. The captain usually changes location during the night, allowing guests to enjoy the day surfing.

10 days / 11 nights

Our opinion The 360° Travel print

The Banyak Islands are an archipelago next to the Mentawai Islands and have the big advantage of being much less crowded than the Mentawai Islands, which is the big highlight of our trip.

You'll like :

Discover the culture of the Minangkabau

The best surf spots in Sumatra

Explore the places of Lake Toba 

Scroll to Top
Need help?

Valider et fermer
Accueil / Croisières / îles Banyaks

Asie

Croisière Surf îles Banyaks

Embarquez pour une croisière inoubliables aux îles Banyak sur les meilleurs spots avec notre équipe d'expert. Au large de la côte ouest de Sumatra Nord, nichées entre l'île de Nias au sud et le sud-est de Simeulue, au nord. Ces îles peu habitées abritent des vagues de classe mondiale, dont "Treasure Island", ainsi qu'un ensemble de vagues denses dans la "Bay of Plenty".

Le boat surf trip de vos rĂŞves Le voyage

Embarquez pour une croisière inoubliables aux Ă®les Banyak sur les meilleurs spots avec notre Ă©quipe d’expert.

Au large de la cĂ´te ouest de Sumatra Nord, nichĂ©es entre l’Ă®le de Nias au sud et le sud-est de Simeulue, au nord. Ces Ă®les peu habitĂ©es abritent des vagues de classe mondiale, dont “Treasure Island”, ainsi qu’un ensemble de vagues denses dans la “Bay of Plenty”. Et, comme dans les archipels voisins, des vagues parfaites dĂ©ferlent sur ses cĂ´tes avec une frĂ©quence extrĂŞme. SituĂ© juste au-dessus de l’Ă©quateur, les vents sont gĂ©nĂ©ralement faibles toute l’annĂ©e.

En règle gĂ©nĂ©rale, le surf convient davantage aux surfeurs intermĂ©diaires et expĂ©rimentĂ©s. Ils tireront certainement plus de profit du long voyage dans la rĂ©gion. Et mĂŞme si la rĂ©gion peut se vanter d’offrir des centaines de set-ups de rĂŞve, la plupart dĂ©barquent sur des rĂ©cifs coralliens acĂ©rĂ©s, prĂŞts Ă  infliger une punition appropriĂ©e Ă  la moindre occasion. C’est principalement la raison pour laquelle nous n’encourageons pas les apprenants ou mĂŞme les dĂ©butants en progression Ă  se rendre dans la rĂ©gion.

Ceci dit, avec autant de vagues à choisir, les intermédiaires peuvent toujours surfer les vagues de leur vie, sans trop de risque. Quant aux surfeurs avancés, un seul voyage en entraînera de nombreux autres.

10 jours de surf / 11 nuits

Package photos, un teeshirt ou casquette, BIERES ALL INCLUSIVE.

Note : Le voyage n’a pas d’itinĂ©raire fixe car les conditions de surf peuvent changer d’un jour Ă  l’autre. Notre Ă©quipage expĂ©rimentĂ© est toujours au courant des prĂ©visions de houle et informera tout le monde chaque jour pour discuter de la prochaine Ă©tape. Le capitaine change gĂ©nĂ©ralement d’endroit pendant la nuit, ce qui permet aux clients de profiter de la journĂ©e pour surfer.

0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146
0146

Quand partir ? Les mois parfaits

La saison sèche de mars à octobre où la température moyenne est de 27 °C le vent reste faible mais constant, ce qui rend l'air plus sec et agréable.

La meilleure période de l'année pour surfer "The Banyaks" est la saison sèche, qui peut s'étendre de fin mars à début novembre, lorsque l'océan Indien produit ses houles de fond les plus constantes. La saison sèche de mars à octobre où la température moyenne est de 27 °C le vent reste faible mais constant, ce qui rend l'air plus sec et agréable.

JanvierFĂ©vrierMarsAvrilMaiJuin
JuilletAoûtSeptembreOctobreNovembreDécembre
JanvFĂ©vMarsAvrilMaiJuin
JuilAoûtSeptOctNovDéc

Le bateau Voilier ou catamaran

Le bateau possède 5 chambres doubles et une chambre partagée pour 4 personnes soit une capacité de 14 personnes en plus de l'équipage hors surf guide qui loge à part. Toutes les cabines sont climatisées ainsi que l'espace commun.

On considère que le bateau est plein à 10 personnes mais on peut sans problème monter à 12 sous réserve qu'une cabine soit occupée par 4 personnes.

La nourriture est variée passant de l' influence Française jusqu'à l'Indonésie en passant par le burger et la pizza !

Le surf guide Pierre qui est à l'origine du bateau, maîtrise les îles Banyaks comme sa poche.

Journal de bord Programme de votre croisière

Arrivez à Sibolga avant 13 heures. Un membre de notre personnel vous attendra pour vous conduire au port. Les personnes arrivant tôt seront invitées à se détendre dans un hôtel voisin. Le bateau est basé à Sibolga à 1h de vol de Medan. On récupère les planches la veille du départ à Medan car celles-ci rejoignent le bateau via la route.

Départ du port à 18 heures, arrivée aux îles Banyak tôt le lendemain matin.

Au niveau des vagues, aux îles Banyaks, on a une douzaine de vagues permettant de surfer à tous niveaux. Elles sont relativement soft et assez accessible sur des niveaux moyens de surf  (cela reste du reef quand même donc l'obligation de savoir faire un take off et suivre la vague) comme turtle ou Pulau Babi, des spots classes mondiales comme Treasure, Cobra ou Bay of Plenty (3 vagues gauche et droite sur le même lieu) . Grâce à Pierre, vous serez guidé tout au long de votre séjour sur quelques spots secrets.

Retour à Sibolga en début de matinée. Un de nos représentants vous emmènera à l'aéroport, prenez l'avion retour à n'importe quel moment après 9 heures du matin.

10 jours de surf / 11 nuits

Note : Le voyage n'a pas d'itinéraire fixe car les conditions de surf peuvent changer d'un jour à l'autre. Notre équipage expérimenté est toujours au courant des prévisions de houle et informera tout le monde chaque jour pour discuter de la prochaine étape. Le capitaine change généralement d'endroit pendant la nuit, ce qui permet aux clients de profiter de la journée pour surfer.

 

Formules & Tarifs sur devis en fonction du nombre de personnes

Exclusive Charter surf

  • DĂ©part du port Ă  18 heures, arrivĂ©e aux Ă®les Banyak tĂ´t le lendemain matin.
  • 10 jours de surf / 11 nuits
  • Retour Ă  Sibolga en dĂ©but de matinĂ©e.
Le prix inclus le package photos, un teeshirt ou casquette, BIERES ALL INCLUSIVE. Note : Le voyage n'a pas d'itinéraire fixe car les conditions de surf peuvent changer d'un jour à l'autre. Notre équipage expérimenté est toujours au courant des prévisions de houle et informera tout le monde chaque jour pour discuter de la prochaine étape. Le capitaine change généralement d'endroit pendant la nuit, ce qui permet aux clients de profiter de la journée pour surfer.

10 jours / 11 nuits

Exclusive Charter surf + pack Medan et Sibolga

  • HĂ´tel
  • Taxi
  • Vol Medan / Sibolga
  • Gestion des boards aller et retour
  • DĂ©part du port Ă  18 heures, arrivĂ©e aux Ă®les Banyak tĂ´t le lendemain matin.
  • 10 jours de surf / 11 nuits
  • Retour Ă  Sibolga en dĂ©but de matinĂ©e.
Le prix inclus le package photos, un teeshirt ou casquette, BIERES ALL INCLUSIVE. Note : Le voyage n'a pas d'itinéraire fixe car les conditions de surf peuvent changer d'un jour à l'autre. Notre équipage expérimenté est toujours au courant des prévisions de houle et informera tout le monde chaque jour pour discuter de la prochaine étape. Le capitaine change généralement d'endroit pendant la nuit, ce qui permet aux clients de profiter de la journée pour surfer.

10 jours / 11 nuits

Notre avis L'impression de 360° Travel

Les îles Banyaks sont un archipel mitoyen aux Mentawai et présentent le gros avantage d'être beaucoup moins fréquenté que les Mentawai, c'est le gros point fort de notre trip.

Vous allez aimer :

DĂ©couvrir la culture des Minangkabau

Les meilleurs spots de surf Ă  Sumatra

Explorer les lieux de Lac Toba 

Retour haut de page
Besoin d'aide ?