Retour d'expérience : Cape Verde, an exceptional surftrip

21 August 2018 | Africa

Today, Léonore, surfer from the Landes coast, takes us with her on a surftrip to Cape Verde... A change of scenery is guaranteed!

360° Surf : You just came back from a surf trip in Cape Verde, can you tell us a bit about your trip ?

Léonore : Cape Verde is an archipelago lost in the middle of the Atlantic Ocean, composed of 10 islands located off the coast of Senegal. All are different, that's what makes their charm. The people are adorable and also very different: black people with blue or green eyes, blond people with frizzy hair! After 4 hours on the plane, we landed at the "Cesaria Evora" airport, on the island of São Vicente in the middle of nowhere. We then went by taxi to Mindelo, the capital, the city of Fado, the music of the famous singer Cesaria Evora. There are lots of nice and cheap hostels. We spent the night in a small hotel in the heights of the city. The next day, we took a ferry to go to the neighbouring island: Santo Antao. It is the most virgin and green island of the archipelago. It is a paradise for hikers. We decided to take a guide to make us discover this small corner of paradise. We walked with a very cool rasta guide. On the spot, we found a small hotel in Ponta do Sol, a fishing village in the north of the island.

As for surfing, Santo Antao is not known to be the best spot : the currents are particularly dangerous with a lot of rocks... After spending a few days in Santo Antao, we went back to Sao Vicente to have a look at the island's surf spots.

How long were you there? What spots did you wrinkle?

I stayed 10 days there. The main spots I rode are Praia Grande and Calhau on the island of Sao Vicente. There, I could ride all types of waves, with rocky, sandy and reef bottoms.

How did you feel about your trip? How did you organize it?

For the organization, we planned before the departure the corners of the island that we wanted to discover, with the help of the Routard guide, which is full of good addresses.

Why did you choose Cape Verde?

Cape Verde has always been a destination I wanted to discover. My parents had been there several times and they loved it. I also got a lot of positive feedback from friends who already knew the place. It's true that the image of a small tropical archipelago lost in the middle of the ocean makes you want to go there :)

Tell us about the atmosphere in the line-up?

At the spots where I surfed, there were very few surfers in the water. I only found myself with the school instructors and a few local kids who had a good level! I didn't have any worries about localism on the spots I went to. The atmosphere is very relaxed and the locals are smiling. It is with the surf school "Sabura Surf Academy" that I took a course with transfer on the spot. They also offer to rent equipment.

What are your good plans in Cape Verde (spots, to see, to do, where to eat)? In short, life there?

The food! The local dishes are mostly based on fish. There is a small restaurant in a hut on the beach of the Praia Grande spot where you can enjoy a grilled fish right after your surfing session. Also the national dish not to be missed: cachupa!

As far as the local atmosphere is concerned, I advise you to go and drink a grogue (local rum-based alcohol) or to have dinner in the historical centre of Mindelo, the atmosphere is relaxed and the bars/restaurants generally organise small concerts with Portuguese music.

As far as budget is concerned, life there is not very expensive. There are several small hostels/hotels where you can stay for a decent price.

If you are a nature lover, you should definitely go to Santo Antao and discover the island by hiking in the green valleys...

To organize a 100 % surf trip, it is better to go to the neighbouring islands such as "Sal" which have a great variety of spots and are more suitable for surfing.

I would say that the best time to surf is in January-February because the winter swells are more consistent. After that, it all depends on your level... But as a general rule, it's better to avoid summer with all the tourists and the heat...

What will be your next surftrip ?

I would really like to be able to surf in Maldives or in IndonesiaI'm waiting to perfect my surfing skills. It's better to be experienced before surfing this kind of waves... I would also love to do a boat trip in the Mentawaii or in Indonesia, in the tropics...

In one word, how would you sum up your experience ? What advice would you give to a future globe trotter?

What I mainly remember from this trip is the extreme kindness of the people there, their open-mindedness. They have a vision of things totally different from ours. My advice would be to avoid the islands that are too touristy (in the east of the archipelago), unfortunately they are the ones where the surf spots are the best! Unless you have a lot of time ahead of you, the best thing to do is to discover all the islands of the archipelago one after the other with internal connections by plane or by boat.

I hope this little description will make you want to discover this beautiful country!

Share!

Subscribe

Your email address is only used to send you the 360° Surf blog newsletters. You can at any time use the unsubscribe link integrated in the newsletter. Learn more about your data management and your rights.
RGPD(Required)

Categories

Latest articles

Scroll to Top
Open chat
Need help?

Retour d’expérience : Cap Vert, un surftrip d’exception

21 août 2018 | Afrique

Aujourd'hui, Léonore, surfeuse de la côte landaise, nous emmène avec elle dans son surftrip au Cap Vert... Attention dépaysement assuré !

360° Surf : Tu viens de rentrer d’un surf trip au Cap Vert, peux-tu nous raconter un peu ton voyage ?

Léonore : Le Cap Vert est un archipel perdu au milieu de l’océan Atlantique, composé de 10 îles situées au large du Sénégal. Toutes sont différentes, c’est ce qui fait leur charme. Les gens sont adorables et aussi très différents : des noirs aux yeux bleus ou verts, des blonds aux cheveux crépus ! Après 4 heures d’avions, on a atterris à l’aéroport "Cesaria Evora", sur l’île de São Vicente au milieu de nul part. On s’est ensuite rendu en taxi à Mindelo, la capitale, la ville du Fado, la musique de la célèbre chanteuse Cesaria Evora. Il y a plein de petites auberges sympas et pas chères. On a passé la nuit dans un petit hôtel dans les hauteurs de la ville. Le lendemain, on a pris un ferry pour aller sur l’île voisine : Santo Antao. Il s’agit de l’île la plus vierge et verdoyante de l’archipel. Là-bas, c’est le paradis des randonneurs. On a décidé de prendre un guide pour nous faire découvrir ce petit coin de paradis. On a marché avec un guide rasta super cool. Sur place, on s’est trouvé un petit hôtel à Ponta do Sol, un village de pêcheurs au nord de l’île.

Côté surf, Santo Antao n’est pas réputée pour être le meilleur des spots : les courants sont particulièrement dangereux avec beaucoup de rochers… Après avoir passé quelques jours à Santo Antao, on est retourné à Sao Vicente pour faire le tour des spots de surf de l’île.

Combien de temps es-tu restée sur place ? Quels sont les spots que tu as ridés ?

Je suis restée 10 jours sur place. Les principaux spots que j’ai ridés sont Praia Grande et Calhau sur l'île de Sao Vicente. Sur place, j'ai pu rider tous types de vagues, avec des fonds rocheux, de sable et du reef.

Comment as-tu appréhendé ton voyage ? Comme l’as-tu organisé ?

Pour l’organisation, on a planifié avant le départ les coins de l’île que l’on voulait découvrir, en s’aidant du guide du Routard, qui est rempli de bonnes adresses.

Pourquoi avoir choisi le Cap Vert ?

Le Cap Vert a toujours été une destination que je voulais découvrir. Mes parents y étaient allés plusieurs fois et ils avaient adorés. J’ai aussi eu beaucoup de retours positifs d’amis qui connaissaient déjà l’endroit. C’est vrai que l’image du petit archipel tropical perdu au milieu de l’océan donne envie :)

Raconte-nous un peu l’ambiance au line-up ?

Aux spots où j’ai surfé, on était très peu de surfeurs à l’eau. Je me suis seulement retrouvée avec les moniteurs de l'école et quelques jeunes locaux qui avaient un bon niveau ! Je n’ai pas eu de soucis de localisme sur les spots où je suis allée. L’ambiance est super décontractée et les locaux souriants. C’est avec l’école de surf « Sabura Surf Academy » que j’ai pris un cours avec transfert sur le spot. Ils proposent aussi de louer du matos.

Quels sont tes bons plans au Cap Vert (spots, à voir, à faire, où manger) ? Bref, la vie là-bas ?

La nourriture ! Les plats locaux sont surtout à base de poissons. Il y a d’ailleurs un petit restaurant dans une cabane sur la plage du spot de Praia Grande où vous pouvez déguster un poisson grillé juste après votre session de surf. Aussi le plat national à ne pas manquer : la cachupa !

Pour ce qui est ambiance locale, je vous conseille d’aller boire un grogue (alcool local à base de rhum) ou de dîner dans le centre historique de Mindelo, l’ambiance est décontractée et les bars/restaurants organisent généralement des petits concerts avec de la musique portugaise.

Au niveau du budget, la vie sur place n'est pas très chère. Il y a plusieurs petites auberges/hôtels où vous pouvez loger sur place pour un prix correct.

Si vous êtes amoureux de la nature, il faut absolument se rendre sur l’île de Santo Antao et découvrir l’île en faisant des randonnées dans les vallées verdoyantes…

Pour organiser un trip 100 % surf, mieux vaut se rendre sur les îles voisines comme celle de « Sal » qui regroupent une grande variété de spots et plus aptes à la pratique du surf.

Je dirai que la meilleure période pour surfer est en janvier-février car les houles hivernales sont plus consistantes. Après tout dépend de ton niveau… Mais en règle générale, mieux vaut éviter l’été avec tous les touristes et une forte chaleur…

Quel sera ton prochain surftrip ?

J’aimerais vraiment pouvoir surfer aux Maldives ou en Indonésie, mais pour ça, j’attends de me perfectionner en surf. Il vaut mieux être aguerri avant de surfer ce genre de vagues… J’adorerais aussi faire une expérience en boat trip aux Mentawaii ou en Indonésie, sous les tropiques…

En un mot, comment résumerais-tu ton expérience ? Quel(s) conseil(s) donnerais-tu à un futur globe trotter ?

Ce que je retiens principalement de ce voyage, c’est l’extrême gentillesse des gens sur place, leur ouverture d’esprit. Ils ont une vision des choses totalement différente de chez nous. Mon conseil serait d'éviter les îles trop touristiques (à l’est de l’archipel), malheureusement ce sont celles où les spots de surf sont les mieux ! Sauf si vous avez beaucoup de temps devant vous, le mieux c’est de découvrir toutes les îles de l’archipel les unes après les autres avec des correspondances internes en avion ou en bateau.

J'espère que cette petite description vous donnera envie de découvrir ce magnifique pays !

Partager !

S'abonner

Votre adresse de messagerie est uniquement utilisée pour vous envoyer les newsletters du blog 360° Surf. Vous pouvez à tout moment utiliser le lien de désabonnement intégré dans la newsletter. En savoir plus sur la gestion de vos données et vos droits.
RGPD(Nécessaire)

Catégories

Derniers articles

Retour haut de page
Ouvrir le chat
Besoin d'aide ?