The surfing prodigy in the style of Kyllian Guerin...

30 June 2015 | Oceania

Once again Kyllian Guerin has done us the honour of sharing his life as a young surfer in the making... details of his latest surf trip to Australia, exclusively for 360° Surf:

sunset-on-bells

Surf trip Australia

360° Surf : You just came back from a surf trip in Australia, can you tell us a bit about your trip ?

Kyllian Guerin : It was the second time I went to Australia but the first time I was 5 years old so I don't really remember. This time, I really discovered a part of the country because I went from the south towards Melbourne to the Gold Coast with a part between Coolangatta and Sydney by car. So, I got to see a lot of places. It's a fantastic country, Australians are The scenery and the waves were incredible. I really loved it.

How long did you stay there ? Which spots did you wrinkle?

I stayed for more than a month, which is the least I can do because the country is so big.

I was first in Torquay for the World Championship stage in Bells. Then I went by plane à Coolangatta on the Gold Coast. I was able to surf Snappers and D-bah. I went to see my boyfriend Kyuus about Byron bay where we had some great sessions. Then on the way down we had bylaws à Yamba and Angourie Full stop. Then I did a spot at Vincent's Primel at Old bar above Foster. Then we finished the trip in the surroundings of Sydney. Cronula , Woolonghon..

right-perfect-angled dot

Perfect right - Angourie point

img_6529

How did you feel about your trip? How did you organize it?

At the last minute. We'd arranged with Rip Curl for Bells. Then my father did it according to his connections and especially the swell. We booked every time we decided to move. So nothing too set in advance.

Why did you choose Australia?

I wanted to go to Bells, then Australia is a country where there are great waves with a high water level. It's a must for all surfers. I really love this country and I have good friends there. It's a place where I'm really going to spend some time.

snappers

Snappers

Tell us about the atmosphere in the line-up?

It's ok, there are a lot of people on spots like Snappers, some people on others in general and sometimes nobody on some of them I won't say the name :). But it's pretty cool and the Australians are respectful. Anyway, they were great to me.

What is the difference with the French waves at this time of the year?

It's the beginning of winter in Australia, with the start of the good swells in Victoria and New South Whales. The water is not too cold yet so a 3/2 is enough and it's nice outside. It's a good time to move on these spots. On the Gold Coast, it's great, the water is good and we always surf in boardshorts with sometimes a top while here we are still in 4/3.

What is your best memory / scare?

My biggest scare was at Bells on an off day. It was grey, windy, choppy but a good size. I got into the water and as soon as I got to the line up I saw a big black shape coming at me. I took the first one that came along and went straight onto the beach. I'm not sure if it was a shark, I think it was an elephant seal. But when Lakey came out of the water and said "I saw that thing too" we decided not to go back!

The best memory is perhaps this incredible session with Vincent Primel at his place where I stuck one of the most beautiful hits of my life.

left

Perfect left

What are your good plans in Australia (spots, to see, to do, where to eat)? In short, life there?

Torquay below Melbourne is a beautiful place, it's a bit like Hossegor and there are quite a few good spots outside Bells too. Then on the Gold Coast, it's pretty classic and well known. But it's true that Snappers is incredible despite the world.

To eat there, we had our habits and there is a very good sushi at the bottom of the moll on Coolangatta with an ice cream shop right next to it. Pure happiness!

Then as a good plan, it is really the surf camp of Vincent Primel. He is on a great spot and knows the area perfectly now. He will be able to drive you as he did for me and it is really worth it.

Also, don't hesitate to explore the coastline south of Sydney to Wooloongon. There are a multitude of great spots.

air-a-d-bah

Air a D bah

What will be your next trip? Why do you want to do it?

I went to Mentawai after Australia. Let's say it was on the way back.

In one word, how would you sum up your experience ? What advice would you give to a future globetrotter?

I would say Australia is easy, just rent a car like I did with my dad, have a map of the spots and let yourself be guided with the reports to be sure to have a good stay. At the line up, stay cool. Australians are passionate and they will share good sessions with you without any problem.

Thank you Kyllian for your feedback.

See you soon ;)

Share!

Subscribe

Your email address is only used to send you the 360° Surf blog newsletters. You can at any time use the unsubscribe link integrated in the newsletter. Learn more about your data management and your rights.
RGPD(Required)

Categories

Latest articles

Scroll to Top
Open chat
Need help?

Le prodige du surf à la sauce Kyllian Guerin…

30 juin 2015 | Océanie

Une fois de plus Kyllian Guerin nous a fait l'honneur de partager sa vie de jeune surfeur en devenir... les détails de son dernier surf trip en Australie, en exclusivité pour 360° Surf :

sunset-sur-bells

Surf trip Australie

360° Surf : Tu viens de rentrer d’un surf trip en Australie, peux-tu nous raconter un peu ton voyage ?

Kyllian Guerin : C’était la deuxième fois que j'allais en Australie mais la première fois j’avais 5 ans donc je ne m'en souviens pas vraiment. Cette fois, j ai vraiment découvert une partie du pays puisque je suis allé du sud vers Melbourne jusqu'à la Gold Coast avec une partie entre Coolangatta et Sydney en voiture. Donc, j'ai pu voir pas mal d'endroits. C’est un pays fantastique, les Australiens sont accueillants, les paysages et les vagues incroyables. J'ai vraiment adoré.

Combien de temps es-tu resté sur place ? Quels sont les spots que tu as ridés ?

Je suis resté plus d'un mois sur place, il faut au moins ça car le pays est super grand.

J'étais d'abord à Torquay pour l'étape du championnat du monde à Bells. Ensuite je suis allé en avion à Coolangatta sur la Gold Coast. J'ai pu surfer Snappers et D-bah. Je suis allé voir mon copain Kyuus sur Byron bay où l'on a eu de belles sessions. Ensuite en descendant on s'est arrêtés à Yamba et Angourie Point. Puis j'ai fait un spot chez Vincent Primel à Old bar au dessus de Foster. Puis on a terminé le voyage dans les alentours de Sydney. Cronula , Woolonghon..

droite-parfaite-angourie-point

Droite parfaite - Angourie point

img_6529

Comment as-tu appréhendé ton voyage ? Comme l’as-tu organisé ?

À la dernière minute. On s'était calé avec Rip Curl pour Bells. Ensuite, c'est mon père qui a fait en fonction de ses connexions et surtout du swell. On réservait chaque fois que l'on décidait de bouger. Donc rien de trop calé à l'avance.

Pourquoi avoir choisi l’Australie ?

Je voulais aller à Bells, ensuite l'Australie est un pays où il y a de superbes vagues avec un niveau à l'eau élevé. C’est un passage obligé pour tous surfeurs. Moi j'adore vraiment ce pays et j'ai de bons copains là-bas. C’est un endroit où je vais vraiment passer du temps.

snappers

Snappers

Raconte-nous un peu l’ambiance au line-up ?

Ça va, il y a beaucoup de monde sur des spots comme Snappers, du monde sur les autres en général et parfois personne sur certains dont je ne dirai pas le nom :). Mais c’est plutôt cool et les Australiens sont respectueux. En tous cas, ils ont été supers avec moi.

Quelle est la différence avec les vagues françaises à cette période de l’année ?

C’est le début de l'hiver en Australie, avec le début des bons swells dans le Victoria et dans le New South Whales. L'eau n‘est pas encore trop froide donc une 3/2 suffit et il fait bon dehors. C’est une bonne période pour bouger sur ces spots. Sur la Gold coast, c’est top, l'eau est bonne et on surfe toujours en boardshort avec parfois un top alors qu’ici on est encore en 4/3.

Quel est ton plus beau souvenir / frayeur ?

Ma plus grosse frayeur, c’était à Bells pendant un jour off. Il faisait gris, venté, plein de clapots mais il y avait une bonne taille. Je suis rentré à l'eau et à peine arrivé au line up, j'ai vu une grosse forme noire me foncer dessus. J ai pris la première qui arrivait et j'ai foncé sur la plage. Je ne suis pas sûr que c'était un requin, je crois plus à un éléphant de mer. Mais quand Lakey est sorti de l'eau et m'a dit "moi aussi j'ai vu ce truc" on a préféré ne pas y retourner !

Le meilleur souvenir, c’est peut être cette session incroyable avec Vincent Primel chez lui où je me suis collé un des plus beaux tubes de ma vie.

gauche

Gauche parfaite

Quels sont tes bons plans en Australie (spots, à voir, à faire, où manger) ? Bref, la vie là-bas ?

Torquay en-dessous de Melbourne est un endroit magnifique, c’est un peu comme Hossegor et on trouve pas mal de bons spots en dehors de Bells aussi. Ensuite sur la Gold coast, c'est plutôt classique et connu. Mais c'est vrai que Snappers est incroyable malgré le monde.

Pour manger là-bas, on avait nos habitudes et il y a un très bon sushi en bas du moll sur Coolangatta avec un marchand de glace juste à côté. Le pur bonheur !!

Ensuite comme bon plan, c’est vraiment le surf camp de Vincent Primel. Il est sur un super spot et connaît parfaitement le coin désormais. Il pourra vous driver comme il l'a fait pour moi et cela vaut vraiment le coup.

N'hésitez pas aussi à découvrir la côte au sud de Sydney jusqu'à Wooloongon. Il y a une multitudes de spots d'une superbe qualité.

air-a-d-bah

Air a D bah

Quel sera ton prochain trip ? Pourquoi ?

J‘ai enchaîné les Mentawai après l'Australie. On va dire que c ‘était sur le chemin du retour.

En un mot comment résumerais-tu ton expérience ? Quel(s) conseil(s) donnerais-tu as un futur globetrotter ?

Je dirais l’Australie c’est facile, il suffit de louer une voiture comme j'ai fait avec mon père, d'avoir une carte des spots et de se laisser guider avec les reports pour être sûr de passer un bon séjour. Au line up, restez cool. Les Australiens sont passionnés et ils partageront sans problème de bonnes sessions avec vous.

Merci Kyllian pour ton retour.

À bientôt ;)

Partager !

S'abonner

Votre adresse de messagerie est uniquement utilisée pour vous envoyer les newsletters du blog 360° Surf. Vous pouvez à tout moment utiliser le lien de désabonnement intégré dans la newsletter. En savoir plus sur la gestion de vos données et vos droits.
RGPD(Nécessaire)

Catégories

Derniers articles

Retour haut de page
Ouvrir le chat
Besoin d'aide ?