California according to Paul Duvignau

21 July 2015 | North America

Don't know where to go on a surftrip?

No worries, today, the young surfer/shaper from Landes, Paul Duvignau talks about his trip to the land of surf culture: Welcome In California.

360°Surf: You just came back from a surf trip in California, can you tell us a little bit about your trip?

Paul Duvignau : My trip went very well, a little bit fast because I left from Bordeaux to Orly and my plane to LAX was leaving from CDG, I had to take the shuttle, which was late, so I almost missed my plane, I got off the bus 10 min before the plane took off ! So, I advise you to avoid this kind of plane plan haha, fortunately I didn't have a boardbag, I only left with a hand luggage.

How long were you there?

About two and a half weeks, from 17 December to 5 January.

How did you feel about your trip? How did you organise it?

Actually I had planned three stops, San Diego to start with, then Santa Barbara and finally Venice for the last two days before flying back. I chose these cities because I had friends who could put me up.

e573f-11144804_660781484066023_1343326900_o

Why did you choose California?

Because it's a must-see destination when you're a surfer/shaper, there's an uncommon spirit there, and above all, whether you're old, young, with long or short hair, with a crappy old longboard or with the latest Al Merrick, no one is judgmental. On the street it's the same, wherever you go people are nice, joking, friendly. I've talked to homeless people as well as rich people, each one as cool as the next. California is surf, skate, smile and rock'n'roll :)

3cab1-11130631_660780127399492_407984277_o

Tell us about the atmosphere in the line-up?

The atmosphere is really cool, in any case for my part I spent great moments talking with guys, I was surprised because in France it's hardly if they answer me when I say hello, and in California, all the guys are nice and easily engage in conversation.

What is the difference with the French waves at this time of the year?

December in France is the arrival of winter, storms and big swells, over there it's also the arrival of winter but it's quite warm and the waves are of great quality every day, the only thing is that you can have a 20 cm swell for 10 days or 1,50 m. You just have to be there at the right time. In California, the swells don't change overnight like in France.

What is your best memory / scare in the land of surf culture?

In Santa Barbara, I was staying at Tom Curren's house and one morning we went for a longboard session at Ricon, there was a perfect 1m and not much level in the water so we had a great time and then we went skating and in the evening his son Pat was playing live with his band Clean Spill (which I advise you to go and see if you go there !!) It was a great day among many others.

The biggest scare was when Pat and I got pulled over by the cops one morning, they actually put handcuffs on our buddy who was driving, but it was a mistake, a story about a minor who had bought some beers, and they thought it was him when it wasn't ;)

35e0b-11125854_660781680732670_2017617569_o

What are your good plans in Calif (spots, to see, to do, where to eat) ? In short, the Californian life in surftrip ?

The good plans start with the car ! At the exit of the airport you have to take the Alamo bus which brings you directly to rent a car, the best is the Dodge Grand Caravan, multiplace, perfect to put the boards and the family, or even to sleep in it if necessary ! Advice also, it is necessary to take a GPS, otherwise it is rather complicated to move, because the roads are large and it is easy to be mistaken !

Life in San Diego (from south to north) is to surf at Blacks, Seaside Reef and Cardif, then you have to take the 101 road which goes up north, it goes along the coast and the view is great !!!

For Trestle you have to park at the RipCurl shop in San Clemente and walk on the path that leads to the wave. For Venice, don't miss the skate park, it's a must, the arrival of route 66 on the Venice Pier with the big wheel, and even the Bouba Gump restaurant ! Yes, yes like in the movie Forest Gump !!!

Then for Malibu, it is not difficult to find it is on the 101, there are then good spots to surf as Ventura which rolls on a beautiful length, the restaurant at the Pier is top with an incredible view.

Rincon is a bit difficult to find but just before it there is an artificial island with a pontoon leading to it, the one you see on all the videos and photos.

In Santa Barbara there is the Sand Spit wave, at the exit of the harbour which is great but very rare, there is also a good skate park, and don't pass by the Al Merrick shop without going to see the number of fantastic boards there !

What will be your next trip? Why do you want to do it?

Next trip is Australia for Christmas! Direction Snaper Rocks because I'm taking the kids from my club on a trip there in host families and I'll be staying with my family. Good time in Australia for the waves, the sun and the heat.

In one word, how would you sum up your experience ? What advice would you give to a future globetrotter? 

My experience was unique, different from the first time I went to California, but it's a really great country, go alone, immerse yourself in the adventure and you'll always find great people who will make your adventure unique!!!

40bd1-11101423_660781547399350_271368797_o
Thanks Paul and see you soon ;)

Share!

Subscribe

Your email address is only used to send you the 360° Surf blog newsletters. You can at any time use the unsubscribe link integrated in the newsletter. Learn more about your data management and your rights.
RGPD(Required)

Categories

Latest articles

Scroll to Top
Open chat
Need help?

La Californie selon Paul Duvignau

21 juillet 2015 | Amérique du Nord

Vous ne savez pas où partir en surftrip ?

Pas de soucis, aujourd’hui, le jeune surfeur/shaper landais, Paul Duvignau nous parle de son trip au pays de la surf culture : Welcome In California.

360°Surf : Tu viens de rentrer d’un surf trip en Californie, peux-tu nous raconter un peu ton voyage ?

Paul Duvignau : Mon voyage s’est super bien passé, un peu speed car je suis parti de Bordeaux jusqu’à Orly et mon avion pour LAX partait de CDG, j’ai dû prendre la navette, qui était en retard, donc j’ai failli rater mon avion, je suis descendu du bus 10 min avant le décollage de l’avion !! Donc, je te conseille d’éviter ce genre de plan avion haha, heureusement je n’avais pas de boardbag, je suis parti seulement avec un bagage à main.

Combien de temps es-tu resté sur place ?

À peu près 2 semaines et demi, du 17 décembre au 5 janvier.

Comment as-tu appréhendé ton voyage ? Comment l’as-tu organisé ?

À vrai dire j’avais prévu trois stops, San Diego pour commencer, puis Santa Barbara et pour finir Venice les deux derniers jours avant de reprendre l’avion. J’ai choisi ces villes là car j’avais des amis qui pouvaient m’héberger.

e573f-11144804_660781484066023_1343326900_o

Pourquoi avoir choisi la Californie ?

Car c’est une destination incontournable quand on est surfer/shaper, il y a là-bas un spirit hors du commun, et surtout, que tu sois vieux, jeune, avec des cheveux longs ou courts, avec un vieux longboard pourri ou bien avec la dernière Al Merrick, personne ne porte de jugement sur personne. Dans la rue c’est pareil, où que tu ailles les gens sont gentils, blagueurs, aimables.. J’ai parlé à des SDF comme à des riches, tous aussi cool les uns que les autres. La Californie c’est surf, skate, smile et rock’n’roll :)

3cab1-11130631_660780127399492_407984277_o

Raconte-nous un peu l’ambiance au line-up ?

L’ambiance est vraiment super cool, en tout cas pour ma part j’ai passé de superbes moments à parler avec des mecs, j’ai été surpris car en France c’est à peine si l’on me répond quand je dis bonjour, et en Californie, tous les gars sont sympas et engagent facilement une conversation.

Quelle est la différence avec les vagues françaises à cette période de l’année ?

Décembre en France c’est l’arrivée de l’hiver, des tempêtes et des gros swells, là-bas c’est aussi l’arrivée de l’hiver mais il fait assez chaud et puis les vagues sont de superbes qualités tous les jours, la seule chose c’est que tu peux avoir un swell de 20 cm pendant 10 jours ou bien alors 1,50 m. Il suffit juste d’y être au bon moment. En Californie, les swells ne changent pas du jour au lendemain comme en France.

Quel est ton plus beau souvenir / frayeur au pays de la surf culture ?

À Santa Barbara, je logeais chez Tom Curren et un matin on est allés faire une session en longboard à Ricon, il y avait 1 m parfait et pas beaucoup de niveau dans l’eau alors on s’est gavés puis on est allés skater et le soir son fils Pat jouait en concert avec son groupe Clean Spill (que je vous conseille d’aller voir si vous allez là-bas !!) C’était une superbe journée parmi tant d’autres.

La plus grosse frayeur c’est quand on s’est fait arrêter par les flics avec Pat un matin, ils ont carrément mis les menottes à notre pote qui conduisait, mais il s’agissait d’une erreur, une histoire de mineur qui avait acheté des bières, et ils croyaient que c’était lui alors que pas du tout ;)

35e0b-11125854_660781680732670_2017617569_o

Quels sont tes bons plans en Calif (spots, à voir, à faire, où manger) ? Bref, la vie californienne en surftrip ?

Les bons plans ça commence par la voiture !! À la sortie de l’aéroport il faut prendre le bus Alamo qui vous amène directement louer une voiture, le mieux c’est les Dodge Grand Caravan, multiplace, parfait pour mettre les planches et la famille, ou même pour dormir dedans si nécessaire !! Conseil aussi, il faut prendre un GPS, sinon c’est plutôt compliqué pour bouger, car les routes sont grandes et il est facile de se tromper !!

Niveau vie sur place (en partant du sud vers le nord) à San Diego c’est de surfer à Blacks, Seaside Reef et Cardif, ensuite il faut prendre la route 101 qui remonte vers le nord, elle longe la côte et la vue est top !!!

Pour Trestle il faut aller se garer au shop RipCurl de San Clemente et marcher sur le chemin qui mène à la vague. Pour Venice, ne passez pas à côté du skate park, c’est un lieu incontournable, l’arrivée de la route 66 sur le Pier de Venice avec la grande roue, et même le restaurant Bouba Gump !! Oui, oui comme dans le film Forest Gump !!!

Puis pour Malibu, ce n’est pas difficile à trouver c’est sur la 101, il y a par la suite de bons spots à surfer comme Ventura qui déroule sur une belle longueur, le resto au Pier est top avec une vue incroyable.

Rincon, c’est un peu difficile à trouver mais juste avant il y a une île artificielle avec un ponton qui y mène, celui que l’on voit sur toutes les vidéos et photos.

À Santa Barbara il y a la vague de Sand Spit, à la sortie du port qui est géniale mais très rare, il y a aussi un bon skate park, et ne passez pas a coté du shop Al Merrick sans aller voir le nombre de boards fantastiques que l’on y trouve !!

Quel sera ton prochain trip ? Pourquoi ?

Prochain trip c’est l’Australie à Noël ! Direction Snaper Rocks car j’amène les kids de mon club en trip là-bas dans des familles d’accueils et je vais loger dans ma famille. Bonne période en Australie pour les vagues, le soleil et la chaleur.

En un mot comment résumerais-tu ton expérience ? Quel(s) conseil(s) donnerais-tu as un futur globetrotter ? 

Mon expérience était unique, différente de la première fois où je suis allé en Californie, mais c’est vraiment génial comme pays, partez seul, plongez-vous dans l’aventure et vous trouverez toujours des gens géniaux qui rendront votre aventure unique !!!

40bd1-11101423_660781547399350_271368797_o
Merci Paul et à bientôt ;)

Partager !

S'abonner

Votre adresse de messagerie est uniquement utilisée pour vous envoyer les newsletters du blog 360° Surf. Vous pouvez à tout moment utiliser le lien de désabonnement intégré dans la newsletter. En savoir plus sur la gestion de vos données et vos droits.
RGPD(Nécessaire)

Catégories

Derniers articles

Retour haut de page
Ouvrir le chat
Besoin d'aide ?