From Canada to the United States with Aurélien Bouche Pillon

10 February 2016 | North America

Hi Aurélien, this week the 360° Surf team is touring the extreme conditions spots and as we know that icy water doesn't scare you, we would like you to talk about it to our web users... Ready? Go for it...

360° Surf: We saw that you like to surf in cold waters, why?

Aurélien Bouche Pillon: Yes indeed, it's a real passion and it's a lifestyle. I am attracted by the solitude and the calm, it is a challenge that I like and the reward is inexplicable.

What is your favourite spot? Which spots do you like to ride?

My favourite spot is on Lake Erie in Canada but of course I love all the Great Lakes including the Atlantic coast of the US in the North East which is a very beautiful area where it gets very cold in the winter. I really like the state of Rhodes Island where I am now. It's very rocky, it reminds me of France with not many people in the water. It's really beautiful. The Great Lakes are really a favourite place for me, it's wild, it's very cold and there are very few people. When you meet someone it's often someone nice.

What are the surfing conditions at the moment?

Right now it is relatively warm for the season as El Nino on the west coast is bringing us much milder than normal weather with a little less snow, ice and wind than usual but still a lot of waves. We still have ice in the water. I say "warm" but it's all relative, it's still between 0°C and -5°C and temperatures can go down to -10°C. This month of February is going to be brutal.

Can you tell us a bit about the line-up ? The atmosphere ? ...

At the line-up, I'm usually on my own which is pretty funny. I'm surfing waves on the lakes around my home, whether it's in Canada or the US. For the last 10 years I've been on my own. That's what I like about lake surfing, it's that solitude, that harmony with nature... Facing the storms. The only things that come between me and my passion are ice, currents, snow...

How do you organise your cold water surftrips?

The weather is very important. I observe it 3-4 days before. I prepare myself mentally and physically by doing sports, stretching, with a lot of sleep, less alcohol and coffee too. With my photographer friend we prepare mentally, physically and we make sure we have the right equipment to be in the right place at the right time.

What equipment do you have for a cold water expedition?

I am lucky to have a sponsor for the suits (Hyperflex) which creates 6.5mm wetsuits, 7mm gloves, 8mm booties, a ski mask, balaclavas and I put Vaseline on my face because I really surf in brutal conditions. You have to have a lot of suits and be able to change quickly...

What is your best memory / scare?

Surfing waves over 2m on my own for the last 10 years, seeing golden eagles flying by me, being able to watch rainbows and beautiful landscapes changing over the hours in the water. Being in total harmony with the elements. My worst nightmare is getting a cramp when I'm all alone in the water and ice and having to come back to shore.

What will be your next trip? Why do you want to do it?

Very good question! I am very attracted by Iceland, Alaska, Russia or one of the 5 great lakes. I've done 3 of them, so I have 2 left to experience. I really want to go surf the upper lake in the USA.

Do you have any good plans to share with us?

You have to come and surf the Great Lakes, it's a spiritual experience like no other. There is a great diversity, it's an experience to be had.

In one word, how would you sum up your experience ? What advice would you give to a future globetrotter?

Magical, spiritual, unusual, extreme, a paradise, a life without remorse, I live the life I want. My advice is to be very careful, not to exceed your limits, to observe, to respect nature but above all to follow your dreams and not to be afraid to go off the beaten track.

Any last words?

Thanks for thinking of me and then live your dreams. Surfing is everywhere you want, don't limit yourself, don't be afraid to put on your wetsuit and test other spots. Surfing is like life, it's an adventure and we are the only ones who control it.

Aloha from the great lakes!

Photo credits :
Lucas Murnaghan Aurelien - surfing lake Erie Canada this winter 2015
Theophyl syslo
Christopher DI Dio - Lake Ontario rochester NY

Follow Aurélien's adventures on Instagram.

Share!

Subscribe

Your email address is only used to send you the 360° Surf blog newsletters. You can at any time use the unsubscribe link integrated in the newsletter. Learn more about your data management and your rights.
RGPD(Required)

Categories

Latest articles

Scroll to Top
Open chat
Need help?

Du Canada aux États-Unis avec Aurélien Bouche Pillon

10 février 2016 | Amérique du Nord

Salut Aurélien, cette semaine la team 360° Surf fait la tournée des spots de conditions extrêmes et comme on sait que l’eau glacée ne te fait pas peur, on aimerait bien que tu en parles à nos internautes… Prêt ? Go…

360° Surf : On a vu que tu aimais surfer dans les eaux froides, pourquoi ?

Aurélien Bouche Pillon : Oui en effet, c’est une vraie passion et c’est un style de vie. Je suis attiré par la solitude et le calme, c’est un défi qui me plait et la récompense est inexplicable.

Quel est ton spot de prédilection ? Quels sont les spots que tu aimes rider ?

Mon spot de prédilection est sur le Lac Erie au Canada mais j’aime bien entendu tous les Grands Lacs y compris la côte atlantique des États-Unis au nord-est qui est une très belle région où il y fait très froid l’hiver. J’aime énormément l’État de Rhodes Island dans lequel je suis actuellement. C’est très rocheux, ça me fait penser à la France avec pas beaucoup de monde à l’eau. C’est vraiment magnifique. Les Grands Lacs sont vraiment pour moi des lieux de prédilection, c’est sauvage, il y fait très froid et il y a très peu de monde. Quand tu rencontres quelqu’un c’est souvent quelqu’un de sympathique.

En ce moment quelles sont les conditions de surf ?

En ce moment même il fait relativement chaud pour la saison car El Nino, sur la côte ouest, nous apporte des climats beaucoup plus doux que la normale avec un peu moins de neige, glace et de vent que d'habitude mais toujours beaucoup de vagues. On a quand même de la glace dans l’eau. Je dis qu'il faut "chaud" mais tout est relatif, il fait tout de même entre 0 °C et -5 °C et les températures peuvent descendre jusqu’à -10 °C. Ce mois de février s’annonce brutal.

Peux-tu nous raconter un peu comment ça se passe au line-up ? L’ambiance ? …

Au line-up, je suis généralement tout seul ce qui est assez marrant. Je surfe des vagues sur les lacs autour de chez moi, que ce soit au Canada ou aux États-Unis. Depuis 10 ans je suis tout seul. C’est ce qui me plait dans le surf sur les lacs, c’est cette solitude, cette harmonie avec la nature... Affronter les tempêtes. Les seules choses qui se mettent entre moi et ma passion c’est la glace, les courants, la neige…

Comment organises-tu tes surftrip dans les eaux froides ?

La météo est primordiale. Je l’observe 3-4 jours avant. Je me prépare mentalement et physiquement en faisant du sport, des étirements, avec beaucoup de sommeil, moins d’alcool et de café aussi. Avec mon ami photographe on se prépare mentalement, physiquement et on s'assure d'avoir du bon matériel pour être au bon endroit au bon moment.

Quel est ton équipement pour une expédition en eau froide ?

J’ai de la chance d’avoir un sponsor pour les combinaisons (Hyperflex) qui crée des combinaisons de 6.5 mm, des gants de 7 mm, des chaussons de 8 mm, un masque de ski, des cagoules et je mets de la vaseline sur mon visage car je surfe vraiment dans des conditions brutales. Il faut avoir de nombreuses combinaisons et être capable de se changer rapidement…

Quel est ton plus beau souvenir / frayeur ?

Surfer des vagues de plus de 2 m tout seul depuis 10 ans, de voir des aigles royaux voler à côté de moi, pouvoir observer des arcs-en-ciel et regarder des paysages magnifiques qui changent au fil des heures dans l’eau. Être en harmonie totale avec les éléments. Mon pire cauchemar c’est d’avoir une crampe lorsque je suis tout seul au milieu de l’eau et de la glace et de devoir revenir au bord.

Quel sera ton prochain trip ? Pourquoi ?

Très bonne question ! Je suis très attiré par l’Islande, l’Alaska, la Russie ou encore l’un des 5 grands lacs. J’en ai fait 3 il m’en reste donc 2 à expérimenter. J’ai vraiment envie d’aller surfer le lac supérieur aux États-Unis.

As-tu des bons plans à partager avec nous ?

Il faut venir surfer les Grands Lacs, c’est une expérience spirituelle comme aucune autre. Il y a une grande diversité, c’est une expérience à vivre.

En un mot comment résumerais-tu ton expérience ? Quel(s) conseil(s) donnerais-tu as un futur globetrotter ?

Magique, spirituelle, hors du commun, extrême, un paradis, une vie sans remords, je vis la vie que je veux. Mon conseil c’est d’être très prudent, de ne pas dépasser ses limites, observer, respecter la nature mais surtout de suivre ses rêves et de ne pas avoir peur de sortir des sentiers battus.

Un dernier mot ?

Merci d’avoir pensé à moi et puis vivez vos rêves. Le surf c’est partout où on veut, il ne faut pas se limiter, n’ayez pas peur d’enfiler votre combinaison et de tester d’autres spots. Le surf c’est comme la vie c’est une aventure et on est les seuls qui la contrôle.

Aloha depuis les grand lacs !

Crédits photos :
Lucas Murnaghan  Aurelien - surfing lac Erie Canada this winter 2015
Theophyl syslo
Christopher DI Dio - lac Ontario rochester NY

Suivez les aventures d'Aurélien sur Instagram.

Partager !

S'abonner

Votre adresse de messagerie est uniquement utilisée pour vous envoyer les newsletters du blog 360° Surf. Vous pouvez à tout moment utiliser le lien de désabonnement intégré dans la newsletter. En savoir plus sur la gestion de vos données et vos droits.
RGPD(Nécessaire)

Catégories

Derniers articles

Retour haut de page
Ouvrir le chat
Besoin d'aide ?