Riding the right wave for your trip

15 June 2015 | Travel Stories

Who hasn't dreamt of taking a backpack, a board under the arm and going on a solo surftrip to the other side of the world?

182d5-img_3309

Kuta Beach, Bali

I still remember the day I stood in front of my world map and dotted the spots I wanted to go surfing. Imagine yourself on the moon wondering where you are going to build your future home. Unthinkable? Well, that's pretty much how I felt at that moment.

Then there's that famous day when you get your tickets, and this time you go. But between the first and second step there are often many obstacles that prevent us from taking the step. Family ties, fear of the unknown, cultural and financial barriers are all things that can prevent us from leaving.

Yet these are often excuses, we are often caught up in the fear and uncertainty of what lies ahead. The truth is that it is not easy to set off into the unknown. It is a project like any other that deserves to have objectives, preparation and above all we must ensure that it is not a simple "escape" from our daily lives.

f312b-img_2110

San Franscico bay

521f6-img_2116

Ocean side, SF, California

However, if we find the right way, if we know why we should go and how; an extraordinary experience will await us. Surfing in Australia, Indonesia, Africa, New Zealand, Fiji, South America and Latin America is possible.

To succeed in leaving I remember going to see a mental coach who was in fact my supervisor at the time. His guidance allowed me to take the step, the step I didn't feel able to take.

This step took me to the tube waves of Indonesia, the virgin waves of New Zealand, the big waves of Chile and many more.

Going on a surf-trip for a longer or shorter period of time is a unique experience that I wish all surfers.

a8d36-img_2575

Piha surf spot, New Zealand

It's a pretty incredible experience. You are there; you leave, you arrive with your board in an unknown place you learn to listen to others, to observe the waves, to remain humble and respectful. You're caught up in the urge to shout thank you to the world, to the locals, and at the same time to keep this incredible feeling inside you forever.

You've got it all planned out, and there you are, in front of perfect waves. So you wax your board, jump in the water, do a few ducks and then you are riding the wave of your life. It remains exceptional because you went to get it, because more than surfing it's a success, a performance that brings you a lot of well-being.

be9f3-img_3142

Anse vata, New Caledonia

e20c6-wp_20131227_008

Uluwatu, Bali

But going from dream to reality is where it all happens, and the difference is in the mind.

Mentally it is very strong but also very hard to leave. Preparing for a surf-trip can be learnt quite quickly but taking the step to leave is often quite another thing.

You have to set goals, deal with your thoughts and emotions that a trip encompasses. So when it comes to a round-the-world trip, for example, the transition from everyday life to departure can be very complicated. Those few things that many say they can't do, for some it is a dream, for others it is a reality.

de3c4-img_3915

@Noé Grandotto, 360° Surf Ambassador

Share!

Subscribe

Your email address is only used to send you the 360° Surf blog newsletters. You can at any time use the unsubscribe link integrated in the newsletter. Learn more about your data management and your rights.
RGPD(Required)

Categories

Latest articles

Scroll to Top
Open chat
Need help?

Surfer la bonne vague pour partir en voyage

15 juin 2015 | Récits de voyage

Qui n’a jamais rêvé de prendre son sac sur le dos, sa planche sous le bras et partir en surftrip à l’autre bout du monde en solitaire ?

182d5-img_3309

Kuta Beach, Bali

Je me souviens encore de ce jour où placé devant ma carte du monde j’ai mis un point sur les spots où je voulais partir surfer. Imaginez-vous sur la Lune en train de vous demandez où vous allez construire votre future maison. Impensable ? Et bien c‘est à peu près ce que j’ai ressenti à ce moment.

Puis il y a ce fameux jour où tu as tes billets, et cette fois ça y est tu pars. Mais entre la première et la seconde étape il existe souvent de nombreux freins qui nous empêchent de faire le pas. Les attaches familiales, la peur de l’inconnu, les freins culturels et financiers sont tant de choses qui peuvent nous empêcher de partir.

Pourtant ce sont souvent des excuses, nous sommes souvent pris par la peur et par l’incertitude de ce qui nous attend. La vérité c’est qu’il n’est pas évident de partir vers l’inconnu. C’est un projet comme tout autre projet qui mérite d’avoir des objectifs, une préparation et surtout il faut s’assurer que ce n’est pas une simple « fuite » de notre quotidien.

f312b-img_2110

San Franscico bay

521f6-img_2116

Ocean side, SF, Californie

Pourtant si l’on trouve la bonne voie, si nous savons pourquoi partir et comment ; une expérience hors du commun nous attendra. Partir surfer en Australie, en Indonésie, en Afrique, en Nouvelle-Zélande, aux Fidji, en Amérique du sud et en Amérique latine c’est pourtant possible.

Pour réussir à partir je me souviens être allé voir un coach mental qui était en fait mon superviseur à l’époque. Son accompagnement m’avait permis de faire le pas, ce pas que je ne me sentais pas capable de faire.

Ce pas m’a amené sur les vagues tubulaires d’Indonésie, les vagues vierges de Nouvelle-Zélande, les grosses vagues du Chili et bien d’autres encore.

Partir en surf-trip plus ou moins longtemps est une expérience unique que je souhaite à tous les surfeurs.

a8d36-img_2575

Spot de surf de Piha, Nouvelle Zélande

C’est une expérience assez incroyable. Tu es là ; tu pars, tu arrives avec ta planche dans un endroit inconnu tu apprends à écouter les autres, observer les vagues rester humble et respectueux. Tu es pris par l’envie de crier merci au monde, aux locaux, et en même temps de garder ce sentiment incroyable au fond de toi pour toujours.

Tu as tout prévu, et tu es là, devant des vagues parfaites. Alors tu wax ta planche tu fonces à l’eau, effectues quelques canards et puis te voilà en train de rider la vague de ta vie. Elle reste exceptionnelle car tu es allé la chercher cette vague, parce que plus que du surf c’est une réussite une performance qui t’apportes beaucoup de bien-être.

be9f3-img_3142

Anse vata, Nouvelle Calédonie

e20c6-wp_20131227_008

Uluwatu, Bali

Mais passer du rêve à la réalité c’est là où tout se joue, et la différence se fait dans la tête.

Mentalement c’est très fort mais aussi très dur de partir. Préparer un surf-trip ça s’apprend assez vite mais faire le pas de partir est bien souvent une toute autre chose.

Il faut se fixer des objectifs, gérer ses pensées et ses émotions qu’un voyage englobe. Alors lorsqu’il s’agit d’un tour du monde par exemple le passage de la vie quotidienne au départ peut être très compliqué. Ces quelques choses que beaucoup disent ne pas pouvoir faire, pour certains c’est un rêve, pour d’autres c’est une réalité.

de3c4-img_3915

@Noé Grandotto, Ambassadeur 360° Surf

Partager !

S'abonner

Votre adresse de messagerie est uniquement utilisée pour vous envoyer les newsletters du blog 360° Surf. Vous pouvez à tout moment utiliser le lien de désabonnement intégré dans la newsletter. En savoir plus sur la gestion de vos données et vos droits.
RGPD(Nécessaire)

Catégories

Derniers articles

Retour haut de page
Ouvrir le chat
Besoin d'aide ?