Surfing in Madagascar: what you need to know

09 February 2021 | Africa

Off the eastern coast of Africa, Madagascar is an island famous for its endemic fauna worthily represented by lemurs, but a little less for its surfing sports. In the south and on the east coast however, the island offers internationally renowned sites. But when to program such a stay to make the most of an escapade on the Big Island and what to do in case of flat? The answers.

Madagascar

Malagasy surf spots

In the Southeast :

The south of Madagascar is full of spots for surfers of all levels. On the side of Fort-Dauphin, the seasoned surfers tame the waves of the Ambinanibe bay. Off its 7 km long beach, the peaks are legion. At low tide, the sandbanks allow to surf on excellent waves. With its small right-hand side, the neighbouring spot of Monseigneur Bay is a delight for intermediate surfers. To learn to surf, go to the camps in Libanona. At the southern tip of the country, Lavanono offers its arms to the most daring. Rather difficult to access, the spot offers a nice left and reef-break.

In the Southwest :

By going up the west coast, four other spots come into view, including one of the most popular of the island, Anakao. Although this site is not to be presented anymore to the international surfers, it is still little frequented. For experienced surfers, Anakao offers a powerful left hander on a rocky bottom. Those who are new to surfing can opt for Jelly Baby, located opposite Anakao. Not far away, Flameballs unveils a roll of fast waves.

On the East Coast :

The Indian Ocean is unleashed at the level of the village of Ambodiatafana and at the point of Ampanihy. Further north, Mahambo is by far the most famous spot in the region and also the most accessible. The waves are present all year round. Going back up the coast to the north-east of the island, the experienced surfers tame the tubes at the mouth of the river off the town of Sambava.

Those who are looking for powerful lefts or rights and dizzying hits will discover surf spots ideas on foriri.com.

When to surf in Madagascar?

Surfing is available all year round on the east coast. For a stay in the south, September and October are the best months. The still pleasant mercury warms up the sea adequately. During this period, the water temperature varies between 23 and 27°C on the Fort-Dauphin side. At the spots of Lavanono and Anakao, you can enjoy an exceptional temperature of 29 °C in the heart of the hot season, in February.

What to do if the waves are not there?

Madagascar is a destination with a high tourist potential. In case of flat, be sure to always find something to do, parks to visit or islets to discover. If you plan to surf in Anakao, the island of Nosy Ve can be discovered off the coast of the resort. This sandy piece of land of barely 5 km long is ideal to enjoy the sun and the sea. If you have time, plan a short trip inland to the Isalo National Park. Between its rocky formations worthy of the American West and its luxuriant forests, the site promises a successful green escapade.

This is also the case at the Nahampoana reserve, easily accessible from Fort-Dauphin. This unique natural sanctuary reveals in all its splendour the richness of the Malagasy ecosystem. Along the paths, follow the tracks of lemurs, chameleons, turtles and birds, some of them endemic to the island.

If your surfing trip takes you to the east coast of Madagascar, to Mahambo, make the crossing to the island of Sainte-Marie, located just opposite the surf spot. The former pirate's hideout is known for its gentle lifestyle and quiet beaches. Between June and September, its waters are also the scene of an astonishing spectacle, that of the whales that come to mate and give birth.

Share!

Subscribe

Your email address is only used to send you the 360° Surf blog newsletters. You can at any time use the unsubscribe link integrated in the newsletter. Learn more about your data management and your rights.
RGPD(Required)

Categories

Latest articles

Scroll to Top
Open chat
Need help?

Surfer à Madagascar : ce que vous devez savoir

09 février 2021 | Afrique

Baignant au large des côtes orientales africaines, Madagascar est une île célèbre pour sa faune endémique dignement représentée par les lémuriens, mais un peu moins pour ses sports de surf. Dans le sud et sur la côte est pourtant, l'île déroule des sites de renommée internationale. Mais quand programmer un tel séjour pour profiter au mieux d'une escapade sur la Grande île et que faire en cas de flat ? Les réponses.

Madagascar

Les spots de surf malgaches

Dans le sud-est :

Le sud de Madagascar égrène le long des côtes des spots pour les surfeurs de tous les niveaux. Du côté de Fort-Dauphin, les surfeurs aguerris domptent les vagues de la baie d'Ambinanibe. Au large de sa plage longue de 7 km, les peaks sont légion. À marée basse, les bancs de sable permettent de surfer sur d'excellentes vagues. Avec sa petite droite, le spot voisin de Monseigneur Bay fait le bonheur des surfeurs de niveau intermédiaire. Pour s'initier au surf, rendez-vous dans les camps de Libanona. À la pointe sud du pays, Lavanono tend les bras aux plus téméraires. Assez difficile d'accès, le spot offre une belle gauche et des reef-break.

Dans le sud-ouest :

En remontant la côte ouest, quatre autres spots se profilent, dont un des plus populaires de l'île, Anakao. Bien que ce site ne soit plus à présenter auprès des surfeurs internationaux, il est encore peu fréquenté. Anakao déroule pour les surfeurs confirmés une gauche puissante sur fond rocheux. Ceux qui débutent en surf optent pour Jelly Baby, situé face à Anakao. Non loin, Flameballs dévoile un rouleau de vagues rapides.

Sur la côte est :

L'océan Indien se déchaîne au niveau du village d'Ambodiatafana et à la pointe d'Ampanihy. Plus au nord, Mahambo est de loin le spot le plus connu de la région et aussi le plus accessible. Les vagues sont présentes toute l'année. En remontant la côte jusqu'au nord-est de l'île, les surfeurs aguerris domptent des tubes à l'embouchure de la rivière au large de la ville de Sambava.

Ceux qui sont à la recherche de puissantes gauches ou droites et de vertigineux tubes découvrent des idées de spots de surf sur foriri.com.

Quand surfer à Madagascar ?

Le surf se programme toute l'année sur la côte est. Pour un séjour dans le sud, les mois de septembre et octobre sont plus indiqués. Le mercure encore agréable réchauffe convenablement la mer. Durant cette période, l'eau affiche une température variant entre 23 et 27 °C du côté de Fort-Dauphin. Au niveau des spots de Lavanono et d'Anakao, vous pouvez profiter d'une température exceptionnelle de 29 °C au cœur de la saison chaude, en février.

Que faire si les vagues ne sont pas au rendez-vous ?

Madagascar est une destination au haut potentiel touristique. En cas de flat, soyez certain de toujours trouver quelque chose à faire, des parcs à visiter ou des îlots à découvrir. Si vous projetez de surfer à Anakao, l'île de Nosy Ve se découvre au large de la station balnéaire. Ce bout de terre sableux d'à peine 5 km de long est idéal pour profiter du soleil et de la mer. Si vous avez le temps, programmez un petit périple à l'intérieur des terres jusqu'au Parc national de l'Isalo. Entre ses formations rocheuses dignes de l'Ouest américain et ses forêts luxuriantes, le site promet une escapade au vert réussie.

C'est aussi le cas à la réserve de Nahampoana, facilement accessible depuis Fort-Dauphin. Ce sanctuaire naturel unique dévoile dans toute sa splendeur la richesse de l'écosystème malgache. Au fil des sentiers, partez sur les traces de lémuriens, de caméléons, de tortues et d'oiseaux, certains endémiques de l'île.

Si votre séjour dédié au surf vous conduit sur la côte est de Madagascar, à Mahambo, entamez la traversée pour rejoindre l'île de Sainte-Marie, située juste en face du spot de surf. L'ancien repaire de pirates plaît pour sa douceur de vivre et pour ses plages tranquilles. Entre juin et septembre, ses eaux aussi sont le théâtre d’un spectacle étonnant, celui des baleines qui viennent s'accoupler et mettre bas.

Partager !

S'abonner

Votre adresse de messagerie est uniquement utilisée pour vous envoyer les newsletters du blog 360° Surf. Vous pouvez à tout moment utiliser le lien de désabonnement intégré dans la newsletter. En savoir plus sur la gestion de vos données et vos droits.
RGPD(Nécessaire)

Catégories

Derniers articles

Retour haut de page
Ouvrir le chat
Besoin d'aide ?