Surfing holidays in the Canary Islands, a winter surftrip not to be missed

17 January 2020 | Europe

It's ok, you've seen on the 1001 blogs on the net that the Canaries are the winter surfing destination for all levels... The problem is that in the Canary Islands... There are several islands !

But where to learn to surf ? Where is the best place for an intermediate surfer and his/her spouse who prefers yoga/beer (note that the two are perfectly compatible, there are even articles on beer yoga... yes, really).

So we sent who... We sent Alex! Yes, it's her again, definitely, to go around the islands and tell us where to go in the Canaries...

Here we go:

The Canaries are a Spanish archipelago made of 7 different islands located off the coast of Morocco. Here only 4 islands will interest us for surfing : Fuerteventura, Lanzarote, Tenerife and Las Palmas and you will see below that they are all very different ! But don't panic, we have a secret to help you choose ;)

What you need to know before you leave :
- The cost of living is very cheap compared to France, as an example a draught beer costs 1.50 €, diesel is 0.97 €/L and you can eat in a typical restaurant for less than 10 € (and still get your fill!)
- Whatever the island, the best thing to do is to rent a car on the spot and get lost on the small inland roads, there are places to discover that are sometimes not accessible by public transport. Moreover, I was surprised by the state of the main roads which offers a very pleasant drive and breathtaking landscapes...

Fuerteventura : the desert island

The best Aparthotels with surf lessons are here! 

As soon as you leave the airport, the landscape is grandiose. The island, which is called the beach of the Canaries (yes, 150 km of beach, just that) is composed of sand dunes, volcanoes and turquoise waters. So we went to the small town of Corralejo where our surf camp is located, there is everything you need in the immediate vicinity: supermarkets, night bars, restaurants 100 % typical (I advise you to visit the Mesón Las Tejas where you will taste the culinary specialties of the island, a delight).

As far as surfing is concerned, the staff on site takes care of everything, you go on a daily surf trip to different spots and after 4 hours of surfing, there is nothing like a good beer on the beach.

Not to be missed: the Isla de los Lobos accessible by zodiac from the port of Corralejo (below the surf house). On the agenda: tour of the island on foot, including climbing the volcano, walking through a lunar landscape and, of course, lazing on a beach with crystal clear water and swimming in the lagoons.

To end the day well, I strongly advise you to take the time to go and lose yourself in the dunes once the night falls. In the middle of the desert, you will have a view of the milky way offering one of the most beautiful sky of the northern hemisphere.

Lanzarote: the volcanic island

All information about surfcamps, hotels and private flats with surf lessons is here! 

Lanzarote is a 45 minute ferry ride from Fuerteventura and is the wild island par excellence. There you will be away from all the tourist influx especially in Caleta de Famara, a small fishing village where our surf camp is located. Once again, you will find everything nearby: bar, restaurants (you must absolutely go and eat at the Hamburgueseria, there are burgers among others but also fresh and cheap specialities) and especially the beach at 200 m from the apartment... On the other hand the party people will pass their way.

The main spot is nice, in beach break mode with several peaks that unwind, but we will not lie, even if the beach is large, the schools take a lot of space and the spot is much more suitable for learning than for thrill seekers. On the other hand I heard that the winter sessions were composed of big swells which could go up to 3 m, negotiations in progress with the boss to go to see that ;)

On this island it is really important to rent a car because you have to take 2 different buses from the airport to get to the village.
Moreover there are sites not to be missed in the 4 corners of the island, here is a list of what it is absolutely necessary not to miss:

  • The National Park of Timanfaya, otherwise known as the Montañas de Fuego. It is a real mineral museum in activity: volcanic cones, lava seas, geysers: these inhospitable lands offer a breathtaking spectacle where life was frozen 200 years ago. The visit of the park is done by bus.
  • Los Jameos de Agua : to put it simply, it is a natural site shaped by man into a work of art. It is an open-air underground cave resulting from an eruption dating back 3000 years ago.
  • The Cactus Garden, to be seen by curiosity, which includes more than 1000 species
  • Museo Lagomar: the unusual break to sip a Mojito, I won't tell you more!

Gran Canaria: the diverse island

On the program: dune desert, mountain hiking, lazing on the beach, jungle expedition, not forgetting surfing and its spots for all levels and of course a drunken evening in Las Palmas to crown it all! On this island you are spoilt for choice.

There our surf camp is the opposite of mass tourism and will bring the Canarian culture closer to you: the people, the food, the traditions and the atmosphere. We will connect you to the place, making you participate in the local activities and events: tapas tour every Thursday night in the old town, live concerts every Saturday on the corniche that end in a beach party.
All this with a sea view room, what else ?
As a bonus, you will participate in "the surfer's project" and leave your mark on this island by participating in its reforestation and planting a tree.

As for surfing, Gran Canaria offers a wide range of spots suitable for beginners as well as for advanced surfers thanks to the different programs offered: from simple surfing lessons to full day surftrips. The big plus: the island is much less popular for surfing than its neighbours Fuerteventura, Tenerife and Lanzarote, so there are far fewer people in the water.

For more information about our surfing holidays in the Canaries, contact Alex from 360° Surf

Share!

Subscribe

Your email address is only used to send you the 360° Surf blog newsletters. You can at any time use the unsubscribe link integrated in the newsletter. Learn more about your data management and your rights.
RGPD(Required)

Categories

Latest articles

Scroll to Top
Open chat
Need help?

Séjour surf aux Canaries, incontournable surftrip d’hiver

17 janvier 2019 | Europe

C’est ok, vous avez vu sur les 1001 blogs du net que les Canaries sont la destination surf de l’hiver et ce pour tous les niveaux… Le problème c’est qu’aux îles Canaries… Il y a plusieurs îles !

Mais où apprendre à surfer ? Quel endroit est le mieux pour un(e) surfeur(se) intermédiaire accompagné de son/sa conjoint(e) qui préfère le yoga/la bière (notez que les deux sont parfaitement compatibles, il y a même des articles sur le yoga bière… si si pour de vrai).

Donc on a envoyé qui… On a envoyé Alex ! Oui encore elle, décidément, pour aller faire le tour des îles et nous dire où il faut partir aux Canaries…

C’est parti :

Les Canaries constitue un archipel espagnol composé de 7 îles différentes et situées au large de la côte marocaine. Ici seules 4 îles vont nous intéresser pour le surf : Fuerteventura, Lanzarote, Tenerife et Las Palmas et vous verrez plus bas qu’elles sont toutes bien différentes ! Mais pas de panique, nous avons un secret pour vous aider à choisir ;)

Ce qu’il faut savoir avant de partir :
- Le coût de la vie sur place est très bon marché comparé à la France, à titre d’exemple la bière pression coûte 1.50 €, le diesel est à 0.97 €/L et tu peux manger dans un restaurant typique pour moins de 10 € (en sortant rassasié !)
- Quelle que soit l’île, le must est de louer une voiture sur place et de se perdre sur les petites routes intérieures, il y a des endroits à découvrir absolument et qui ne sont parfois pas accessibles en transports en commun. De plus, j’ai été étonnement surprise de l’état des routes principales qui offre une conduite des plus agréables et des paysages… à couper le souffle !

Fuerteventura : l’île désertique

Dès la sortie de l’aéroport le paysage est grandiose. L’île qu’on appelle la plage des Canaries (oui, 150 km de plage, rien que ça) est composée de dunes de sable, de volcans et d’eaux turquoise. Direction donc la petite ville Corralejo où se trouve notre surf camp, là-bas il y a tout ce qu’il faut à proximité immédiate : supermarchés, bars de nuit, restaurants 100 % typiques (je vous conseille d’ailleurs de faire un tour à la Mesón Las Tejas où vous goûterez les spécialités culinaires de l’île, un délice).

Côté surf, le camp s’occupe de tout, vous partirez tous les jours en surftrip sur des spots différents et après 4 h de surf, rien de tel qu’une bonne bière sur la plage.

À ne surtout pas louper : la Isla de los Lobos accessible en zodiac depuis le port de Corralejo (en bas de la surf house). Au programme : tour de l’île à pied dont ascension du volcan, balade sur un paysage lunaire et bien sûr farniente sur une plage à l’eau cristalline et baignade dans les lagunes.

Pour bien terminer la journée, je vous conseille vivement de prendre le temps d’aller vous perdre dans les dunes une fois la nuit tombée. Au milieu du désert, vous aurez une vue sur la voie lactée offrant l’un des plus beau ciel de l’hémisphère nord.

Lanzarote : l’île volcanique

À 45 mn de Ferry de Fuerteventura, Lanzarote est l’île sauvage par excellence. Là-bas vous serez à l’écart de tout afflux touristique surtout à Caleta de Famara, un petit village de pêcheur où se trouve notre surf camp. Encore une fois, vous trouverez tout à proximité : bar, restaurants (il faut absolument aller manger à la Hamburgueseria, il y a des burgers entre autres mais également des spécialités fraîches et bon marché) et surtout la plage à 200 m de l’appartement… Par contre les fêtards passeront leur chemin.

Le spot principal est gentil, en mode Beach Break avec plusieurs pics qui déroulent, mais on ne va pas se mentir, même si la plage est grande, les écoles prennent beaucoup de place et le spot est bien plus adapté à l’apprentissage qu’aux adeptes de sensations fortes. En revanche j’ai ouï dire que les sessions hivernales étaient composées de grosses houles pouvant aller jusqu’à 3 m, négociations en cours avec le boss pour aller voir ça ;)

Sur cette île il est vraiment primordial de louer une voiture car il faut prendre 2 bus différents depuis l’aéroport pour arriver jusqu’au village.
De plus il y a des sites incontournables aux 4 coins de l’île, voici une liste de ce qu’il ne faut absolument pas louper :

  • Le Parc national de Timanfaya autrement appelé las Montañas de Fuego. C’est un véritable musée minéral en activité : cônes volcaniques, mers de lave, geysers : ces terres inhospitalières offrent un spectacle époustouflant où la vie s’est figée il y a 200 ans. La visite du parc se fait en bus.
  • Los Jameos de Agua : pour faire simple il s’agit d’un site naturel façonné par l’homme en une œuvre d’art. Il s’agit de grotte souterraine à ciel ouvert résultant d’une éruption datant d’il y a 3000 ans.
  • Le Jardin de cactus, à voir par curiosité, qui regroupe plus de 1000 espèces
  • Museo Lagomar : la pause insolite pour siroter un Mojito, je ne vous en dis pas plus !

Gran Canaria : l’île diverse

Au programme : désert de dune, randonnée en montagne, farniente sur la plage, expédition dans la jungle, sans oublier le surf et ses spots pour tous les niveaux et bien sûr une soirée arrosée à Las Palmas pour couronner le tout ! Sur cette île vous n’avez que l’embarras du choix.

Là-bas notre surf camp se veut à l’opposé du tourisme de masse « tout compris » et rapprochera la culture canarienne de vous : les gens, la nourriture, les traditions et l’ambiance. Autant de connexion au lieu, en vous faisant participer aux activités et événements locaux : tapas tour tous les jeudis soirs dans la vieille ville, concerts live tous les samedis sur la corniche qui se terminent en beach party.
Le tout en ayant une chambre vue mer, what else ?
En prime, vous participerez au projet « the surfer’s project » et laisserez votre trace sur cette île en participant à sa reforestation et en plantant un arbre.

Côté surf, Gran Canaria offre une amplitude de spots adaptés aux débutants comme aux surfers confirmés grâce aux différents programmes proposés : du simple cours de surf au surftrip à la journée. Le gros plus : l’île est beaucoup moins prisée pour le surf que ses voisines Fuerteventura, Tenerife et Lanzarote, il y a donc bien moins de monde à l’eau.

Pour plus d’informations sur nos séjours surf aux Canaries, contactez Alex de 360° Surf

Partager !

S'abonner

Votre adresse de messagerie est uniquement utilisée pour vous envoyer les newsletters du blog 360° Surf. Vous pouvez à tout moment utiliser le lien de désabonnement intégré dans la newsletter. En savoir plus sur la gestion de vos données et vos droits.
RGPD(Nécessaire)

Catégories

Derniers articles

Retour haut de page
Ouvrir le chat
Besoin d'aide ?