Surf Trip to Nicaragua - 5 good reasons

12 January 2016 | Central America

Our two 360° Surf ambassadors, Pauline and Fabien, have just returned from their surftrip to Nicaragua. For a long time, Nicaragua was considered a difficult place to visit, mainly because of the guerrilla war that lasted from 1979 to 1990. Now, Nicaragua is the perfect place for your next surf trip in the sun.

Today we give you 5 good reasons to book your next surfcamp in Nicaragua.

An ideal location and perfect waves

With more than 330 days of offshore wind, consistent swells all year round, Nicaragua has become a world-class destination for all surf and sun lovers over the years. Due to the vast, featureless expanse, the Pacific coast is ideal for receiving offshore winds with long, consistent waves.

As far as waves are concerned, everything is there for your pleasure: beach breaks, point breaks, reef breaks and big waves for the chargers. Many describe the beaches of the region as the best beach breaks in Central America. You can surf here all year round. What could be better?

A most welcoming country

Considered the safest country in Central America, the people are warm and very welcoming, as our two ambassadors could testify.

In addition to being able to meet a very varied population at the line-up, you will be able to chat very easily with the locals to ask for directions or simply make conversation over a pinolillo (editor's note: a somewhat rustic drink, more or less sweet, based on grilled corn and cocoa, water or milk).

Surf spots still unknown

Unlike its neighbour Costa Rica, Nicaragua is not yet well known for its numerous surfing spots and its very clean waves adapted to all levels even if the splendid and still wild Pacific beaches attract more and more surfers from all over the world.

You can perfect your take-off or tube on the perfect waves of San Juan Del Sur or learn the benefits of surfing on the beginner spots. Best surf spots in Nicaragua: Astillero (beach break), Popoyo (one beach break, one reef break), Santana (beach break) and Colorado (beach break).

Good weather conditions for surfing

With temperatures around 30°C all year round and water temperatures of up to 28°C, Nicaragua offers good surfing conditions almost all year round.

The larger and more consistent waves occur with the arrival of tropical storms during the rainy season between May and November. The dry season, from December to April, is also interesting as the offshore winds are strong and constant. Ideal to start learning to surf.

A total change of scenery

Apart from San Juan Del Sur, the southernmost city on the Pacific side, which you can enjoy for its festive atmosphere, the rest of Nicaragua is still very simple and authentic.

Share!

Subscribe

Your email address is only used to send you the 360° Surf blog newsletters. You can at any time use the unsubscribe link integrated in the newsletter. Learn more about your data management and your rights.
RGPD(Required)

Categories

Latest articles

Scroll to Top
Open chat
Need help?

Surf Trip au Nicaragua – Les 5 bonnes raisons

12 janvier 2016 | Amérique Centrale

Nos deux ambassadeurs 360° Surf, Pauline et Fabien, viennent tout juste de rentrer de leur surftrip au Nicaragua. Longtemps considéré comme un endroit peu accessible et peu propice au tourisme, principalement en raison de la guérilla qui a duré de 1979 à 1990, le Nicaragua est désormais un endroit rêvé pour votre prochain voyage surf au soleil.

Nous vous donnons aujourd’hui les 5 bonnes raisons de réserver votre prochain surfcamp au Nicaragua.

Une localisation idéale et des vagues parfaites

Avec plus de 330 jours de vent offshore, des swells consistants toute l’année, le Nicaragua est devenu, au fil des années, une destination world-class pour tous les amateurs de surf et de soleil. En raison d’une vaste étendue sans relief, la côte Pacifique est idéale pour recevoir les vents offshores avec des vagues longues et constantes.

Côté vagues, tout est réuni pour votre plus grand plaisir : des beach breaks, des points breaks, des reef breaks et des vagues de gros pour les chargeurs. Beaucoup décrivent les plages de la région comme les meilleurs beach breaks d’Amérique Centrale. Vous pourrez venir y surfer toute l’année. Quoi de mieux ?

Un pays des plus accueillants

Considéré comme le pays le plus sûr d’Amérique Centrale, les gens y sont chaleureux et très accueillants comme ont pu en témoigner nos deux ambassadeurs.

En plus de pouvoir rencontrer une population très variée au line-up vous pourrez discuter très facilement avec les locaux pour demander votre chemin ou tout simplement faire la conversation autour d’une pinolillo (ndlr : boisson un peu rustique, plus ou moins sucrée, à base de maïs grillé et de cacao, d’eau ou de lait).

Des spots de surf encore méconnus

Contrairement à son voisin le Costa Rica, le Nicaragua n’est pas encore très connu pour ses nombreux spots de surf et ses vagues très propres adaptées à tous les niveaux même si les plages du Pacifique, splendides et encore sauvages attirent de plus en plus de surfeurs du monde entier.

Vous pourrez donc perfectionner votre take-off ou votre tube sur les vagues parfaites du côté de San Juan Del Sur ou apprendre les bienfaits du surf sur les spots de débutants. Meilleurs spots de surf au Nicaragua : Astillero (beach break), Popoyo (un beach break, un reef break), Santana (beach break) et Colorado (beach break).

Des conditions météo propices au surf

Avec une température autour de 30 °C toute l’année et une eau pouvant aller jusqu’à 28 °C, le Nicaragua offre des conditions propices au surf quasiment toute l’année.

Les vagues plus grosses et constantes se produisent avec l’arrivée des tempêtes tropicales lors de la saison des pluies entre mai et novembre. La saison sèche, de décembre à avril, est aussi intéressante car les vents offshores sont solides et constants. Idéal pour commencer un apprentissage de surf.

Un dépaysement total

Mis à part San Juan Del Sur, la ville plus au sud du côté Pacifique, que vous pourrez apprécier pour son ambiance festive, le reste du Nicaragua vit encore de façon très simple et authentique.

Partager !

S'abonner

Votre adresse de messagerie est uniquement utilisée pour vous envoyer les newsletters du blog 360° Surf. Vous pouvez à tout moment utiliser le lien de désabonnement intégré dans la newsletter. En savoir plus sur la gestion de vos données et vos droits.
RGPD(Nécessaire)

Catégories

Derniers articles

Retour haut de page
Ouvrir le chat
Besoin d'aide ?