Where to surf in Costa Rica ?

25 April 2018 | Central America

Direction Costa Rica for a surf trip to the sound of Pura Vida. Costa Rica is a great playground for all types of surfers. Whether you are a weekend surfer or a hardcore rider, come and have fun on the Pacific beach breaks. Costa Rica is a must for all travelers who want to learn to surf in the best possible conditions. The landscapes, the population, the climate, the waves... Everything is gathered in Costa Rica to make it the paradise on Earth! The country of Pura Vida is without a doubt a surfing destination par excellence. Its Pacific coast is famous for its south and west swells, which makes the reputation of this Central American country grow. Between the secret spots and the spots known of all by the film Endless Summer you will have only the embarrassment of the choice. Let's go surfing in Costa Rica !

From north to south on the Pacific coast of Costa Rica

Tamarin is a must for a successful surf trip. Its numerous surf spots are no longer to be found: Playa Grande, Playa Langosta and Witches Rock, the famous spot discovered in Endless Summer. At Playa Tamarindo you can choose between a right-left peak that works best at high tide and a right-hand peak that works best at low tide. South of Tamarindo, Playa Langosta, will offer you more powerful waves to tube a bit.

Santa Teresa is located on the Nicoya peninsula. Santa Teresa is mainly known for its long straight line which allows you to surf all year round without worrying about the conditions. Whether you are a beginner or an expert you will find your happiness on the spots of Santa Teresa. Worthy of Indonesia, it never stops, every morning, the water is clean and there is always a good meter. It is crazy!

Next to Jaco is the most consistent spot in Costa Rica: Playa Hermosa. This 7 km long beach break changes according to the tides and the size of the swell. It is quite rare to find yourself without waves. Hollow and tubular at low tide, the waves come to round off at high tide. For a session with less people at the peak, you can go further south. If the swell is too big on Playa Hermosa you can always go to Jaco, a perfect spot to learn to surf.

Offering perfect right and left hand waves, Playa Dominical has several powerful peaks when there is no wind. Very nice for the fans of tubes, powerful and hollow waves and rays.

For a great surfing trip, don't miss Pavones and its surprising lefts that run all over the bay with different sections more or less hollow.

So who's in?

Share!

Subscribe

Your email address is only used to send you the 360° Surf blog newsletters. You can at any time use the unsubscribe link integrated in the newsletter. Learn more about your data management and your rights.
RGPD(Required)

Categories

Latest articles

Scroll to Top
Open chat
Need help?

Où surfer au Costa Rica ?

25 avril 2018 | Amérique Centrale

Direction le Costa Rica pour un surf trip au son de la Pura Vida. Le Costa Rica est un excellent terrain de jeu pour tous types de surfeurs. Que vous soyez un surfeur du dimanche ou un rider acharné, venez vous éclater sur les Beach break du Pacifique. Le Costa Rica est une étape obligatoire pour tous voyageurs désirant apprendre le surf dans les meilleures conditions possibles. Les paysages, la population, le climat, les vagues… Tout est réuni au Costa Rica pour en faire le paradis sur Terre ! Le pays de la Pura Vida est sans aucun doute une destination surf par excellence. Sa côte Pacifique réputée pour ses houles de sud et d’ouest fait grandir la réputation de ce pays d’Amérique Centrale. Entre les secrets spots et les spots connus de tous par le film Endless Summer vous n’aurez que l’embarras du choix. On part surfer au Costa Rica !

Du nord au sud sur la côte Pacifique du Costa Rica

Tamarin est une étape incontournable pour un surf trip réussi. Ses nombreux spots de surf ne se présentent plus : Playa Grande, Playa Langosta et Witches Rock, fameux spot découvert dans Endless Summer. À Playa Tamarindo vous pourrez choisir entre un peak droite gauche qui fonctionne mieux à marée haute et un peak droite qui fonctionne mieux à marée basse. Au sud de Tamarindo, Playa Langosta, vous offrira des vagues plus puissantes afin de tuber un peu.

Santa Teresa, se situe sur la presqu'île de Nicoya. Santa Teresa est principalement connue pour sa longue droite qui permet de surfer toute l’année sans se soucier des conditions. Que vous soyez débutant ou expert vous trouverez votre bonheur sur les spots de Santa Teresa. Digne de l'Indonésie, ça ne s'arrête jamais, tous les matins, le plan d'eau est propre et il y a toujours un bon mètre. C'est fou !

À côté de Jaco, se trouve le spot le plus consistant du Costa Rica : Playa Hermosa. Ce beach break long de 7 km change au rythme des marées et de la taille de la houle. Il est assez rare de se retrouver sans vague. Creuses et tubulaires à marée basse, les vagues viennent s’arrondir à marée montante. Pour une session avec moins de monde au pic vous pourrez vous diriger plus au sud. Si la houle est trop grosse sur Playa Hermosa vous pourrez toujours vous rendre à Jaco, spot de repli parfait pour apprendre à surfer.

Proposant des vagues parfaites en droite et gauche, Playa Dominical présente plusieurs pics assez puissants lorsqu’il n’y a pas de vent. Très sympa pour les adeptes de tubes, de vagues puissantes et creuses et de raies.

Pour un trip surf au top, ne passez pas à côté de Pavones et ses gauches surprenantes qui déroulent dans toute la baie avec des sections différentes plus ou moins creuses.

Alors qui est partant ?

Partager !

S'abonner

Votre adresse de messagerie est uniquement utilisée pour vous envoyer les newsletters du blog 360° Surf. Vous pouvez à tout moment utiliser le lien de désabonnement intégré dans la newsletter. En savoir plus sur la gestion de vos données et vos droits.
RGPD(Nécessaire)

Catégories

Derniers articles

Retour haut de page
Ouvrir le chat
Besoin d'aide ?