We're going surfing, you coming? Surfing and your girl

06 June 2016 | Inside

A debate has been going on in the editorial office for several weeks now, the balance of power between the surfer who wants to surf vs. the "not-really" surfer who comes to enjoy herself... but who won't be able to continue for long because eating sand instead of visiting the Indo is annoying her (and we can understand why)...

This is not a cliché article like daddy surfing and mommy cooking. We have to admit that the number of girls surfing is constantly increasing, and that 1/3 of the competitors and instructors of the French Surfing Federation are women... So yes, whether you're gay, straight, transgender ... the ideal would be to enjoy surfing together and to have big sessions together! Those who are lucky enough to be in this situation experience guilt-free sessions, hours checking out spots without looking at the watch and evenings replaying over and over again the waves caught, missed, taxed... in short, the dream!

77934d515ca0ac748d11335f21293ccb

But in real life, what happens when one of the members of a relationship does not surf?

There is a "surf widow" syndrome: women who suffer the absence of their husbands, who go surfing every weekend.

We wanted to know both opinions: that of a guy, who surfs hard every chance he gets, whether he's in a relationship or not, and that of a girl in a relationship who doesn't surf.

I like surfing, the beach, the lifestyle but I don't surf:

I don't surf, not because I'm not attracted to it but because I'm a beginner and as often happens, when you're facing your buddy and his friends who are doing well, you don't want to be seen as the bad guy. So I usually decline surfing sessions proposals by saying : don't worry, you'll enjoy the waves better if I'm not there, it's too big, not enough time, the waves are too soft...

In short, all this to say that the majority of my sessions turn into a sunbathing-photography combo and that I live rather well!

At least. That's what I told myself the first few times. But when you're out in the rain, when the wind blows your hair out, time passes... slowly...

Testimony of : "Surfer who prefers to remain anonymous, 25 years old, single a bit much because of an ex who is not converted to surfing":

My most memorable experience was in Indonesia, the surfing destination where you can buy a t-shirt with the words: "my girlfrind told me, if I go surfing one more time she will leave me, GOSH, I will miss her", a sentence that sums up our two-month surftrip quite well. It's hard to resist the temptation when there are perfect waves 300 m from your hotel... while your girlfriend would like to visit the temples and play tourist.

It's a no-win situation, if we don't go to the water we'll be thinking about it until the next session, so the rickshaw tour of the rice field won't make much of an impression, our girl will see that we're not really there and the drama often starts with "wait, I missed 1m3 of wind off to visit your stash, what more do you want?

Unfortunately at the time of writing we haven't found the magic formula... In the age of ultra-connectedness, there are specialised dating sites for surfers, there is also the solution of only meeting people at the peak, or taking a vow of chastity...

And you, have you found a tip?

Share!

Subscribe

Your email address is only used to send you the 360° Surf blog newsletters. You can at any time use the unsubscribe link integrated in the newsletter. Learn more about your data management and your rights.
RGPD(Required)

Categories

Latest articles

Scroll to Top
Open chat
Need help?

On va surfer tu viens ? Le surf et ta meuf

06 juin 2016 | Inside

Un débat agite la rédac depuis plusieurs semaines, le rapport de force entre le surfeur qui a envie de surfer vs la "pas-vraiment" surfeuse qui vient pour faire plaisir... mais qui ne va pas continuer longtemps parce que bouffer du sable à la place de visiter l'Indo ça la gonfle (et on pourrait comprendre)...

Ce n'est pas un article cliché du genre papa surf et maman fait la popote. Force est de constater que la pratique du surf chez les filles ne cesse d’augmenter, on constate quand même 1/3 de femmes chez les compétiteurs et moniteurs de la Fédération Française de Surf... Alors oui, qu’on soit homo, hétéro, transgenre ... l’idéal serait de kiffer le surf à deux et de se faire de grosses sessions en amoureux ! Ceux qui ont la chance d'être dans cette situation vivent des sessions sans culpabilité, des heures a checker des spots sans regarder la montre et des soirées à se repasser encore et encore les vagues prises, ratées, taxées.. bref le dream !

77934d515ca0ac748d11335f21293ccb

Mais, dans la vraie vie, que se passe-t-il lorsque l’un des membres d’une relation ne surfe pas?

Il existe un syndrome de la « surf widow », (la veuve du surf) : ces femmes qui subissent l’absence de leur mari, parti surfer tous les week-ends.

On voulait connaître les deux avis : celui d’un mec, qui surfe à fond dès qu’il en a l’occasion, qu’il soit dans une relation ou non, et celle d’une fille en couple qui ne surfe pas.

J'aime le surf, la plage, le lifestyle mais je ne surfe pas :

Je ne surfe pas, non pas que ça ne m’attire pas mais parce que je suis débutante et comme souvent, quand on est face à son copain et ses potes qui se débrouillent bien, on a pas envie de passer pour le boulet. Donc je décline le plus souvent les propositions de sessions surf en dégainant mon argument fétiche : non t’inquiète, tu profiteras mieux des vagues si je ne suis pas là, c'est trop gros, pas assez de période, les vagues sont trop molles...

Bref, tout ça pour dire que la majorité de mes sessions se transforment le plus souvent en combo bronzette-photos et que je vis plutôt bien !

Du moins.. C’est ce que je me suis dit les premières fois. Mais quand on se retrouve sous la pluie, que le vent te fait bouffer tes cheveux, le temps passe… doucement…

Témoignage de : "Surfeur préférant garder l'anonymat, 25 ans, célibataire un peu beaucoup à cause d'une ex non convertie au surf" :

Mon expérience la plus marquante s’est déroulée en Indonésie, la destination surf où tu peux acheter un t-shirt avec écrit: « my girlfrind told me, if I go surfing one more time she will leave me, GOSH, I will miss her » phrase, qui récapitule assez bien notre surftrip de deux mois. Il est difficile de résister à la tentation quand il y a des vagues parfaites à 300 m de ton hôtel... alors que ta copine aimerait visiter les temples et jouer à la touriste.

C'est une situation où personne n'est gagnant, si on ne va pas a l'eau on va y penser jusqu'à la prochaine session du coup la visite en pousse-pousse de la rizière ne va pas nous faire grande impression, notre meuf va bien voir qu'on est pas vraiment présent et le drame commence souvent par "attends j'ai loupé 1m3 vent off pour visiter ton souque qu'est ce que tu veux de plus".

Malheureusement au moment où nous écrivons ce post nous n'avons pas trouvé la formule magique... À l'air de l'ultra connecté, il existe des sites de rencontre spécialisés pour les surfeurs, il y a aussi la solution de côtoyer uniquement les gens que tu rencontres au pic, ou faire vœu de chasteté...

Et vous, vous avez trouvé une astuce ?

Partager !

S'abonner

Votre adresse de messagerie est uniquement utilisée pour vous envoyer les newsletters du blog 360° Surf. Vous pouvez à tout moment utiliser le lien de désabonnement intégré dans la newsletter. En savoir plus sur la gestion de vos données et vos droits.
RGPD(Nécessaire)

Catégories

Derniers articles

Retour haut de page
Ouvrir le chat
Besoin d'aide ?