Wholesale surfing: mental preparation

20 February 2015 | Inside

e1789-_mg_46742bcopy

"You don't measure the size of the waves by how big they are, but by how scared you are when they stand in front of you.

But how do you surf big waves? To answer this question, Noé, a coach and mental trainer, gives us some tips...

To surf big waves, it's more than just "go for it". You have to be concentrated, in full possession of your means and above all confident. Confidence in yourself but also in those who are with you and who are there in case of an accident. You have to learn to adapt to critical situations where your life is in danger. We have to overcome the brakes that we may have on death as well. We sometimes talk about instinct, anticipation and decision-making.

Surfing big waves is a state of mind, a way of looking at surfing and extreme sports in general. You can compare it to those who ski down slopes in the most dangerous places in the world, to mountaineers climbing the highest peaks in the world. They are not just trained, they live it every day, this little thing that is stronger than anything. And that's why we admire them!

Here, the experience of each person matters a lot because we will not all have the same vision of things. For some, surfing big waves is 1.50 m/2 m for others it is more than 4 m. The world of Big Waves Riders is a world apart. True big wave surfers are surfers who live for big emotions. They know the risks and are willing to pay a high price.

Grant Baker (BWWT World Champion) told us: "My mental preparation is directly linked to my physical preparation. The fitter I am the better I am in my head. So, I train hard to be in the best shape possible and my mental state follows."

In extreme sports, such as big wave surfing, the mind is obviously at the centre of the activity. How can we not think about it when our lives are at stake? We talk about stress, fear, self-confidence, being sure of ourselves, not thinking... So many terms that we find in the interviews that are part of the mental aspect. Having the physical skills to surf these monsters the majority of riders, with a lot of training can do it. But then there are those who go and those who never go. The difference is in the mind. "Not only were you riding down this mountain but the mountain is chasing after you and you need to figure out how to escape the mountain but also use it. Riding Giant

The mind, like any ability, requires training. The mind encompasses the management of energy (tension...), emotions (stress, positive and negative emotions...), self-esteem, motivation, self-confidence and concentration. The most difficult thing is to bring together, in an emotionally complicated situation, all the skills to make the right decision and to make the right move.

We often talk about not having emotions. Today, despite many obstacles linked to beliefs, emotion is central to good decision-making and studies by Damasio have proven this. Yoga, golf, meditation, sophrology are many tools used. However, the mind goes beyond that and the surfer must learn to manage his emotions.

Surfing big waves is not only about being able to do it, it's also about wanting to do it and mentally training yourself to manage your emotions, your stress, so that in case of an extreme situation, you have the resources to recruit the right emotion, to focus on the right field of action, to take the right decision that will surely offer the biggest adrenaline shot to the surfer.

The preparation of surfers before that made people smile, the old ones were content to go for it and laugh when we spoke to them about "training". Now, physical preparation has become a way of life, but mental preparation still needs to be developed.

You are now ready to surf the Pipeline (or not) :)

For more information you can contact Noé or be inspired by the documentary SINE QUA NON and films like Chasing Mavericks and Riding Giants.

Dreaming of a fatty trip? Book it here. So, fellow riders, go to our Facebook or Twitter to follow all our news ;)

Share!

Subscribe

Your email address is only used to send you the 360° Surf blog newsletters. You can at any time use the unsubscribe link integrated in the newsletter. Learn more about your data management and your rights.
RGPD(Required)

Categories

Latest articles

Scroll to Top
Open chat
Need help?

Le surf de gros : la préparation mentale

20 février 2015 | Inside

e1789-_mg_46742bcopy

« On ne mesure pas la taille des vagues par leur taille mais par la peur que l’on a lorsqu'elles se dressent devant nous. »

Mais alors surfer des grosses vagues comment on s’y prend ? Pour répondre à cette question, Noé, coach et préparateur mental nous donne quelques pistes…

Pour surfer des grosses vagues, cela dépasse juste le «  aller j’y vais » . Il faut être concentré, en pleine possession de ses moyens et surtout en confiance. Confiance en soi mais aussi dans ceux qui nous accompagnent et qui sont là en cas d’accident. Il faut apprendre à s’adapter face à des situations critiques où la vie est en danger. Il faut dépasser les freins que l’on peut avoir sur la mort également. On parle parfois d’instinct, d’anticipation, de prise de décision.

Surfer des grosses vagues, c’est un état d’esprit, une façon de voir le surf, les sports extrêmes en général. On peut comparer ça à ceux qui dévalent des pentes en ski dans les endroits les plus dangereux du monde, aux alpinistes gravissant les plus hauts sommets du monde. Ils ne sont pas juste entraînés, ils le vivent au quotidien, ce petit truc plus fort que tout. Et c’est pour ça qu’on les admirent !

Ici, le vécu de chacun importe beaucoup car on aura pas tous la même vision des choses. Pour certains, surfer du gros c’est 1,50 m/2 m pour d’autres c’est à plus de 4 m. Le monde des Big Waves Riders est un monde à part. Les véritables surfeurs de grosse vagues sont des surfeurs qui vivent pour ressentir de grandes émotions. Ils connaissent les risques et acceptent d’en payer le prix fort.

Grant Baker (champion du monde du BWWT) nous a dit : "Ma préparation mentale est directement liée à ma préparation physique. Plus je suis en forme et mieux je suis dans ma tête. Donc, je m'entraîne dur pour être dans la meilleure forme possible et mon état mental suit."

Dans des sports extrêmes, comme le surf de grosses vagues, le mental est évidement le centre même de l’activité. Comment ne pas y penser alors que notre vie est en jeu ? On parle de stress, de peur, de confiance en soi, d’être sûr de soi, de ne pas réfléchir... Tant de terme que l’on retrouve dans les interviews qui font parties de l’aspect mental. Avoir les compétences physiques pour surfer ces monstres la majorité des riders, avec beaucoup d’entraînement peut y arriver. Mais ensuite il y a ceux qui y vont et ceux qui n’iront jamais. La différence se joue sur le mental. « Not only were you riding down this mountain but the mountain is chasing after you and you need to figure out how to escape the mountain but also use it. » Riding Giant

Le mental, comme toute capacité, demande de l’entraînement. Le mental englobe la gestion de l’énergie (tension…), des émotions (stress, émotion positives et négative …), de l’estime de soi, de la motivation, de la confiance en soi et de la concentration. Le plus difficile, est de réunir, dans une situation émotionnellement compliquée, toutes les compétences pour prendre la bonne décision et avoir le geste juste.

On parle souvent de ne pas avoir d’émotions. Aujourd’hui, malgré de nombreux freins liés à des croyances, l’émotion est centrale dans la bonne décision et des études, faites par Damasio, nous l’ont prouvé. Le yoga, le golf, la méditation, la sophrologie sont beaucoup d’outils utilisés. Pourtant le mental dépasse cela et le surfeur doit apprendre à gérer ses émotions.

Surfer des grosses vagues, ce n’est pas seulement en être capable, c’est donc aussi le vouloir et s’entraîner mentalement à gérer ses émotions, son stress, pour en cas de situation extrême, avoir les ressources pour recruter la bonne émotion, se focaliser sur le bon champ d’action, pour prendre la bonne décision qui offrira sûrement le plus grand shoot d’adrénaline au surfeur.

La préparation des surfeurs avant cela faisait sourire, les anciens se contentaient de foncer et de rire quand on leur parlait « d’entraînement ». Maintenant, la préparation physique est entrée dans les mœurs, reste encore à approfondir la préparation mentale.

Vous êtes maintenant prêt à surfer Pipeline (ou pas) :)

Pour plus de renseignements vous pouvez contacter Noé ou vous inspirer du documentaire SINE QUA NON et des films comme Chasing Mavericks et Riding Giants.

Vous rêver d'un trip de gros ? Réservez-le ici. Alors, amis riders, rendez-vous sur notre page Facebook ou Twitter pour suivre toute notre actualité ;)

Partager !

S'abonner

Votre adresse de messagerie est uniquement utilisée pour vous envoyer les newsletters du blog 360° Surf. Vous pouvez à tout moment utiliser le lien de désabonnement intégré dans la newsletter. En savoir plus sur la gestion de vos données et vos droits.
RGPD(Nécessaire)

Catégories

Derniers articles

Retour haut de page
Ouvrir le chat
Besoin d'aide ?