5 'old school' spots not to be missed

27 February 2015 | Where and when to go

Come on, it's Friday and Friday is free!

So today, 360° Surf gives you the top 5 "old school" surfing destinations to do before you die. Ready... Go ?

1) It's with a board under your arm and a longboard on your feet that you absolutely must go to California. With a scarlet sunset, a song from the "sublime" band "Love is what I got" in the car (preferably a Mustang convertible), you'll be following in the footsteps of surf culture, from San Diego Ocean Beach to Manhattan Beach and Surfrider Beach to Malibu.

You will finish your surftrip in Santa Cruz. An emblematic place where Jay Moriarty did his first take off. This state is a cliché in itself but clichés are born from real passion. Everything happens in California and your longboard skate rides on the Venice boardwalk will never leave your thoughts...

0010b-index

Ocean Beach Pier CA

bcbc6-images

San Clemente

bac5f-images2

Santa Monica L.A

2) We stay in American mode with the Holy Grail: Hawaii, the North Shore of Oahu remains one of the most beautiful stages to do and to do again... Agoraphobic and introverted, it's better to avoid the big spots... It's a bit crowded.

b1bbc-aaaaa
ee95e-classic-pipe_l

Pipeline

6381d-7

North Shore Hawaii Oahu

3) Mexico : here again it is a mythical spot... but not without risk ! The number of stories heard where the surfers arrived in the big pickup and came back in their underwear can't be counted anymore... So we stay humble, we put on the moustache, "y bienvenido en Baja California".

4) Indonesia: you can't miss Kuta Beach in Bali...

For those who know, Kuta was less than 30 years ago a wild spot and it was difficult to find a place to wax your boards... Today the bay that stretches from Kuta to Lebangan has changed : a board rental every 20 meters, massage stands and bitang trees... much more fashionable... it's a good old school spot as we like it (single fin purist please)

5) Last but not least France! Yes, our hexagon has one of the most prominent swells in the world. Try to put a toe on the Grande Plage of Biarritz in summer... or even better, try to catch a wave on the Côte des Basques on August 15th... (you can complicate the exercise by shouting loudly when you arrive at the peak "bonjour, je viens de Paris j'adore les Landes c'est magnifique").

92e88-5019372-7505909

Joël de Rosnay (uncle surfer) with Catherine Deneuve - Biarritz

57cf8-2i43h3

Basque Coast

All that's left is to wish you good luck in your search for a spot and don't forget, if it's crowded on a spot it's for a good reason... chances are you're in the right place!

Share!

Subscribe

Your email address is only used to send you the 360° Surf blog newsletters. You can at any time use the unsubscribe link integrated in the newsletter. Learn more about your data management and your rights.
RGPD(Required)

Categories

Latest articles

Scroll to Top
Open chat
Need help?

5 spots “old school” incontournables

27 février 2015 | Où et quand partir

Allez c'est vendredi et vendredi tout est permis !

Alors aujourd'hui, 360° Surf vous dresse le top 5 des destinations surf "old school" à faire avant de mourir. Ready... Go ?

1) C'est la planche sous le bras et le longboard au pied qu'il faudra absolument vous rendre en Californie. Coucher de soleil rouge écarlate, un morceau du groupe "sublime" : "Love is what I got" dans la voiture (Mustang décapotable de préférence), vous marchez dans les pas de la surf culture, de San Diego Ocean Beach en passant par Manhattan Beach et Surfrider Beach à Malibu.

Vous finirez votre surftrip à Santa Cruz. Lieu emblématique où ici même, Jay Moriarty a fait ses premiers take off. Cet état est un cliché à lui tout seul mais les clichés naissent de réelle passion. Tout arrive en Californie et vos balades en longboard skate sur la balade de Venice ne quittera plus vos pensées...

0010b-index

Ocean Beach Pier CA

bcbc6-images

San Clemente

bac5f-images2

Santa Monica L.A

2) On reste en mode ricain avec le Graal : Hawaï, le North Shore d'Oahu reste l'une des plus belles étapes à faire et à refaire encore... Agoraphobe et introverti, il vaut mieux éviter les gros spots... C'est comme qui dirait un peu fréquenté.

b1bbc-aaaaa
ee95e-classic-pipe_l

Pipeline

6381d-7

North Shore Hawaii Oahu

3) Le Mexique : là encore il s'agit de spot mythique... mais pas sans risque ! Le nombre d'histoires entendus où les surfeurs arrivés dans le gros pickup sont rentrés en slip ne se comptent plus... Alors on reste humble, on fait poser la moustache, "y bienvenido en Baja California".

4) L'Indonésie : on ne peut pas passer à côté de Kuta Beach à Bali...

Pour ceux qui connaissent, Kuta était il y a moins de 30 ans un spot sauvage et il était difficile de trouver un endroit pour waxer ses boards... Aujourd'hui la baie qui s'étend de Kuta à Lebangan a changé : un loueur de planches tous les 20 mètres, stands de massage et arbre de bitang... beaucoup plus à la mode... ça en fait un bon vieux spot old school comme on les aime (puriste en single fin s'abstenir)

5) Enfin dernier mais pas des moindres la France ! Oui oui notre hexagone a l'un des swells les plus en vue du monde. Essayez de mettre un orteil sur la Grande Plage de Biarritz en été... ou encore mieux, essayez de prendre une vague Côte des Basques un 15 août... (vous pouvez compliquer l'exercice en criant haut et fort à votre arrivée au pic "bonjour, je viens de Paris j'adore les Landes c'est magnifique").

92e88-5019372-7505909

Joël de Rosnay (tonton surfeur) en compagnie de Catherine Deneuve - Biarritz

57cf8-2i43h3

Côte des Basques

Il ne nous reste plus qu'à vous souhaiter bonne chance dans votre recherche de spot et n'oubliez pas, s'il y a du monde sur un spot c'est pour une bonne raison... il y a des chances que vous soyez au bon endroit !

Partager !

S'abonner

Votre adresse de messagerie est uniquement utilisée pour vous envoyer les newsletters du blog 360° Surf. Vous pouvez à tout moment utiliser le lien de désabonnement intégré dans la newsletter. En savoir plus sur la gestion de vos données et vos droits.
RGPD(Nécessaire)

Catégories

Derniers articles

Retour haut de page
Ouvrir le chat
Besoin d'aide ?